You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ICONOMI: Undervalued?

in #iconomi7 years ago

Interesting counter-arguments. I guess some people want instant diversification without having to deal with many different coins / exchanges, but I would personally tend more towards your approach, i.e. just manage a diversified crypto portfolio that I directly control.

Sort:  

@hisnameisolllie (adding here to avoid double commenting)

Yes, it is easy and instant, but when they post what they invest in and their index weights, it is pretty easy to copy and rebalance weekly. Wouldn't even have to figure out what to invest in on your own.

I definitely won't be pulling my existing money out of iconomi, but I may just use my poloniex account to diversify in the same manner they do. That said, there are a finite number of ICN tokens, and more are not being created, so I suppose it is possible the coins could be worth more than how well the fund does? Or is that not true?

You're right, with limited number and their own buybacks, the tokens might be bid up. I think you did well to wade in at the ICO to have a stake, but as you say, quite a few uncertainties. Who can even guarantee that their portfolilo allocation is superior? If there is a human factor involved, then the result might be similar to stocks, where over 90% active managers underperform the overall market...

@cloudzombie: Yep, certainly understand that point of view. I think ICONOMI's success will come in on boarding crypto noobs....

and to @daut44 point, ICN token will represent the underlying net assets value, plus a multiple on current/future earnings...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 62157.37
ETH 3418.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50