Copy Cats Trying to Cash In?? -- GEOS IS NOT EOS!! -- [ico]

in #ico7 years ago (edited)

steemit-copycat.jpg

I am a notorious internet prowler and no not like that, if that is what you were thinking!! Anyhow, I guess it stems from my previous career of having to find people. So I just ran into this new Press Release for something called GEOS (Graphene Operating System) announcing their crowd sale. I thought it would be GOS, but since there is an 'e' in graphene, I guess you could call it GEOS, not to be confused with EOS, which is led by the developer of Graphene, Dan Larimer, aka @dantheman and I believe also @dan .

What caught my attention was 2 things; the similar sounding name to EOS and the mention that they will be 'air dropping' the new token Geos to anyone who holds Bitshares and/or Steem. So they copy the EOS name, they then claim to use the same technology that EOS uses (except theirs is better), and then they want to include all those who hold tokens that are in some way or another related with Dan Larimer and his work. Dan has worked on both Bitshares and STEEM. So either these guys are the biggest biters or this is all one heck of a coincidence.

attention-303861_640.png

At this point this new supposed crowd sale has not mentioned who is behind it or involved in developing it. There is only their website with NO information, links that have nothing and a box to sign up for their news letter. Yes, this is a very new Press Release but that is no excuse for not providing important details. For this reason I calling everyone to be cautious and to not get caught up in FOMO. Let others know to be cautious or re-steem this to spread the word. They are offering "Early Supporter" bonuses, but at this point that sounds a jump off the diving with no water in the pool. If they provide better information, then I will post any updates provided since I did sign up. I remain extremely cautious until further notice.


Full Steem Ahead!
07/07/2017
@streetstyle


So You Want To Mine Bitcoin?

Code rT5ix8 =3% off + Bonus in STEEM!
I provide the bonus STEEM

Image Source
Pic 1 Pixabay
Pic 2 Pixabay

Sort:  

Wow. Good job man for finding that out. thanks .. followed ya and resteemed

They're trying to cash in from the "me too" crowd that don't read the fine print. I mean if Useless Ethereum Token managed to collect over 10k$ while blatantly stating its worthless and won't be used for anything, GEOS can certainly make bank.

You are probably right @blakadder Someone will fall for it. At this point I don't believe this to be legit.

Doesn't look legit at all! Best to be avoided!

It is not good to jump in for every opportunity. Thanks for warning.

Nice to give a word of caution to us. Investors need to do some research before investing.

great work. thanks for info

Can you let us more about how to get those free tokens? Have I understood it correctly that they gonna give it to all of us that has some steem? I would enjoy some free tokens :)

good, thanks for sharing.

You have gained a new follower :D you provide such great information

everywhere, where money plays a major role there will be people trying to scam you. always check twice before you want to send some crypto to an address.

Great post. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61426.96
ETH 3441.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51