Papacabeza McAfee Portfolio Week 1 (still!) FINACOIN purchase. Wait, is McAfee stoned in that video? Is he SMOKING A CIGARETTE? Awesome!

in #ico6 years ago

tl;dr: I'm investing $1,000 roughly along the recommendations of McAffee and steeming it.

By far, the most interesting and fun part of the experiment that I'm running here with this $1,000 "follow-the-McAfee" fund is learning about John McAfee. He's got such a wild personality and past. His present also seems to be pretty wild. Here's a video of him from his Twitter page. The setting is very . . . 70s? He's SMOKING A CIGARETTE! That takes balls. Wait, is he also stoned? I'd say so.

I don't think this video is worth a watch in entirety. You'll lose your mind. But I do think his stoney-sounding statements about Monero resonate. He's talking about people using it to buy tigers and whatnot, and use on the Dark Web. And how it's anonymous, etc. Interesting --- I have no Monero but somehow McAfee's stoner-sounding presentation of it made sense to me.

But dude, look at that setting. And I can't emphasize enough the extra credit that the cigarette gets. If the cigarette were a coin, I'd buy immediately.

OK, SOOOO back to the $1,000 portfolio, which (through my own lack of patience) was basically reduced to $874 after transaction fees from funding and bad luck in the daily fluctuation. About $400 went in to McAfee's first recommendation, BEZOP.IO, which isn't the world's most bizarre ICO but it takes a few clove cigarettes, let's say, before you start to appreciate it's value. I can't tell if it's a scam or what.

Today McAfee came out with another ICO, FINACOIN at www.finacoin.io. I'm doing the transfers now to get in at about $400 worth (it's $1 per FINACOIN). There's no point in doing due diligence on this now since the purpose of our plan is to just blindly follow McAfee (subject to various random discretionary adjustments that may occur) :) More review after purchase but initially, it feels like I'm buying an ICO from a 1990s Nintendo. There's a scrolling red banner across the top (haven't seen this since AltaVista days) that says:

"There Would be a Reward System for those who Refer Others to FINACOIN after the ICO PERIOD. THANK YOU."

I read that scrolling read banner and I have no idea what it means. But if McAfee has gonads big enough to recommend an ICO that's built on a Nintendo and show up in the worlds funkiest conference room to do an interview, stoned, and smoking—all within the same 24 hour period—then that's really all I need. It's a good day in the world of ICOs.

OK, so out with the $400. Wish me luck. :)

Sort:  

^^ They have "all legals" including a privacy policy and terms of service! And look at the amazing thing that they have done with this amazingly complete legal strategy. "To top it all off," they've trademarked the name! This is amazing. HODL for SURE! I'm buying this one for my kids.

Oops, this is a screenshot from the previous ICO, BEZOP, I put it in the wrong comment. Here's my discussion of BEZOP.IO. It's a real winner, just like FINACOIN. :)

Twitter user @Glaive has done a pretty comprehensive analysis and has tied the founders of FINACOIN to another well-known Nigerian scam. McAfee must not be doing any due diligence on this stuff.

John, as nice of an idea as this ICO sounds, I've confirmed Finacoin to be a scam ran by a Nigerian with a previous record of both ICO scams as well as typical 419 money forward scams. First I looked at the list of other domains using his same two Cloudflare nameservers: pic.twitter.com/OTZJxAwguf

— Glaive (@MrGlaive) January 5, 2018

Go to the Tweet to read all the various details. It's well done.

McAfee is finally recognizing the blatantly scammy nature of his FINACOIN recommendation. Here's his Tweet:

I have been presented with evidence that the FINA ICO was organized by an individual associated with a known Nigerian criminal organization. I have no proof that they will not follow through and list the coins or develop a product, but I must withdraw my support. Details coming.

— John McAfee (@officialmcafee) January 10, 2018

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73