Atheism is better than riligion

in #icelandfacts8 years ago

Iceland is once again selected as the number one peaceful country in the world in global peaceful index. why its number 1? well because most of the upcoming citizens are atheists. 40 percent of the youngsters are publicly admitted that they are atheists and in one survey for 25 years old. A question asked how many of them believe that God created the earth, and the percentage was Zero. Yes nobody.

Sort:  

Yes, you don't need a God to make moral and ethical decisions. In fact it makes you more responsible for your decisions. If you do something wrong you cannot claim it was in the name of God. If you help other people it is YOU truly deciding to help someone rather than doing so because it is expected from your religion. I believe for something to be truly compassionate it must be based on a voluntary choice an individual makes.

Atheists are more likely to justify crimes. Not saying they all will but they are more likely to commit crimes because they dont believe they will ever get judged for it one day. Christians are more afraid to kill people because they believe they will be doomed forever. So whether you believe or not, you have to admit religion is a good thing...unless its Islam which is more of a cult.

I disagree since many of the CRIMES are based around religious motivations. If an atheist practices NAP (Non-aggression Principle) then I know they'd be less likely to commit crimes.

NAP if you are unfamiliar with it (if you are my apologies) basically says that a person is free to do as they like with their body and property until they infringe upon the rights of another or harm another.

AKA - no victim - no crime

EDIT: I don't completely identify as an atheist. Simply because there are two possibilities I'll never be able to prove. Either 1) There has always been something here... then I'm fine with atheism, or 2) Something caused the catalyst to create this all... which makes me a Deist (not to be confused with Theist). I don't believe any fellow human being is going to be able to tell me the secrets of the universe. I don't believe in revelation. I don't believe in ANY written books claiming to hold the answers. I actually see that as arrogant and controlling. I instead view it as a constant adventure and hope I find out.

I've personally witnessed more evil done by so-called Christians I've known in my life than I have other things. They often forget a couple of really important things. (My mother is very Christian by the way)

The Christian God gave mankind Free Will. So what gives other humans the right to try to force and take that free will away that was God Given, and to condemn and persecute human beings for exercising free will? Furthermore, if a human speaks to me claiming to know the answers and telling me I am damned if I do not accept Jesus into my life. I ask what happens to the people that don't encounter a missionary to ask them this question. I've often been told that God will put the question to me himself at judgement. I then have to wonder how many people my fellow human beings are damning by putting a question to others and expecting them to believe it when they'd be far more likely to believe it if it came from God him/herself.

Ultimately I consider all written religions to be like a Santa Claus for adults. That doesn't mean I have no sense of morality or ethics. It simply means I am responsible for my choices. If I hurt someone that is on me. If someone is hurt due to my inaction when I could have helped, that is on me. I can't blame it on being the will of God. I also don't fail to take action and hope God will fix everything. If there IS a God (for me Deism) out there then I guarantee you he is not as arrogant and petty as they portray him/her in these books. That is the hallmark of human created speculation that people decided was fact to me.

Congratulations @newman! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @newman! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66709.93
ETH 3505.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71