Introducing a New Steemian: peaceinartwork (Christina M. Wilmes)

in #ians6 years ago

This week I became aware of the #ians (introduce a new steemian) initiative by @gmuxx to support newcomers. Even though I cannot guarantee much exposure, I would like to participate, and this week I would like to introduce @peaceinartwork, a.k.a. Christina M. Wilmes, an artist, poet & photographer.

In December, I was on Twitter and had some free time and asked if anyone wanted me to look at their poetry. Christina had tweeted me back and I took a look at her site. I was compelled by her poetry; it spoke directly to my soul. I browsed more on her site and found that she frequently paints and takes photographs. The paintings were mesmerising, so much so that I felt inspired to write poetry based on the paintings. I contacted Christina, and she let me use the images to share on my blog. That was the beginning of our friendship.


"Depression", also featured in her poem The Ugly Truth

In these past two months, I got to know her more. Even though we never met in real life, it is safe to say that she is one of the kindest and bravest souls that I have crossed paths with. Some of her paintings and photographs are for sale on Etsy, and 50% of the proceeds from each sale go to Buddy Project .

Buddy Project is a non-profit movement that aims to prevent suicide and self-harm by pairing people as buddies and raising awareness for mental health.


In her Introductory Post, Christina talks in-depth about herself. She is honest and upfront about her hardships with depression and bipolar disorder. As someone who has suffered from depression, I truly admire that she is quite candid about her life. I am sure that many readers can connect to her struggles and will find her to be an inspiring person. I pulled this quote from her site, Peace in Artwork:

Just as no two paintings are the same,
no two individuals have the same mental illness traits.


There are not many words which I can use to describe her or her work. She truly deserves a warm welcome. On that note, you should read her Introductory Post.

As part of the #ians initiative, after the payout, I will transfer all the SBD earned by this post to @peaceinartwork. This post aims to support Christina, so give her some love! She already has some paintings and poems on her steemit, so go check them out!


Sort:  

welcome poetrybyjeremy,Happy steemit
#Steemit-Indonesia

Welcome bro to steemit

😊welcome!follow me, good @solik

I love her paintings and that line..
"No two individual have the same mental illness traits" pulls a chord in me.

I would be more than pleased to look into her poetry work.

Welcome to steemit @peaceinartwork

I am so absolutely moved by this post, the support and understanding for my cause! I am moved to tears and left speechless, ME... SPEECHLESS. Love you to both @poetrybyjeremy and @rexdickson

Christina, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and the drawing above of a person with no face makes me think of times in my life when I am contemplating forks in the roads. Those moments of the big decisions in life.

I just Love this community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66267.02
ETH 3282.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70