You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #6 What Metrics & Standards Professionals Use To evaluate Translation Quality Part 1

in #iamutopian6 years ago

This is a very comprehensive post, with many good and informative points. I, of course, have comments.

Let's start with the big question you raise: "Must a Translator Translate only in their Native Language?"

While I agree with your overall answer of "no," I want to say that for me, the specific answer is different. It's not about your education or how and where you were raised. It boils down to this: You have to be a good writer in the language you're translating to. And then you have to practice a lot. Translating from your native language to a different language is a tricky thing, and training really helps. Personally, I'm a pretty skilled writer in English, but I don't translate to English professionally. I've done it a few times pro-bono, for friends, to practice. But I haven't leveled up in it to the degree that I can charge for it.

On the presentation side, I think you can still do better in English style and grammar. I'll be happy to provide examples if you wish, in a follow-up comment.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

Thanks @didic for your comments and review. I appreciate your feedback. Yes, I want to improve on the presentation, and would love to hear your follow up comments. Thanks for doing all these extra work to help us improve.

As usual, these are examples that represent the issues in the post.

I have been given this awesome task to look into

Should be "I have been given this awesome task of looking into"

ranging from children to adult level

Consistency requires this to either be "children to adults" or "child to adult level."

I also did a lot of volunteer work to translate English to Chinese for the chinese communities, so with this background and experiences behind me, I hope to be able to come up with an excellent guideline to measure the quality of translation in the Translation category in Utopian.

A few issues here.

  • This should be two sentences at the very least.
  • "volunteer work to translate English" should be "volunteer work translating English"
  • The second "chinese" should be capitalized, as the first was.
  • "an excellent guideline" should be "excellent guidelines" or "an excellent set of guidelines."

Thank you for your review, @didic!

So far this week you've reviewed 13 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31