Hydroponic Strawberries, Part 2 - Blossoms and Runners! Days 38-39

strawberries-apr6.jpg
Day 38: April 6th, 2018

These freeloading strawberry plants have been living the life in their AeroGrow hydroponics system. Having the very best LED lighting, distilled water, and the right dose of liquid plant food, you would expect they would be bursting with fruit! But alas, this was a very wrong expectation. Over three weeks ago, I trimmed off the first blossoms, to let the plants mature a little more so they would provide a better production later on, but I didn’t expect it to be an eternity!

strawberries-apr6-blossom.jpg
Day 38: April 6th, 2018

Finally, on day 36 I spotted a couple buds on one of the plants, and then on day 38, a pretty little blossom! Only one plant has graced me with new blossoms, so I was a little confused, as some of the other plants are significantly larger than the one that has most recently produced blossoms.

strawberries-apr7-runner.jpg
Day 39: April 7th, 2018

My confusion was abolished when I spotted this sneaky little runner. Strawberries are sneaky little plants that can be started by seed, or started by a runner. Runners take a lot of energy for the parent plant to support, so these little leeches should be trimmed off as soon as you spot them if you are trying to produce strawberries.

If you are in need of new strawberry plants, I recommend letting a plant send off a single runner (trim off the rest), and when the runner becomes an established enough plant, you would separate it from the parent plant. This method is far quicker than trying to establish a new plant from seed.

Turns out, when I trimmed off the one runner, I spotted a second one! No wonder my plants aren’t producing any blossoms! They were trying to make little baby plants!

strawberries-apr7-runner2.jpg
Day 39: April 7th, 2018

Now that I have trimmed off these runners, let’s hope the rest of the plants stop freeloading!

If you missed part one, you can check it out at Hydroponic Strawberries, Part 1 - First 33 days!

Disclaimer: I'm not being sponsored for writing this article. Just sharing my experience with the world, and wanting to track progress of this system in case I start up another.

Sort:  

This is interesting. For some reason, I bought seeds for blue strawberries but have been putting off planting them. I do well with a lot of indoor plants and we have a great deal of luck with tomatoes. I have never tried strawberries. I'm going to read Part 1 and see about giving my blue strawberries a try.

Congratulations @syntacticsugar! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @syntacticsugar! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99