Letting everyone know I am safe and alive from Hurricane Irma...St Maarten/ St Martin

in #hurricane7 years ago

Letting everyone know that I am safe and alive from Hurricane Irma. Those last couple days were among the toughest of my life. My hearts and prayers are with the people of St Maarten/ St Martin

Let me first say thank the God Almighty for bringing me through this horrible experience. While the lost was great, I am extremely grateful to be alive. I have personally experience two previous hurricanes, but hurricane Irma was just on another level. Having my eardrum pop from the vibration was a totally new experience, and being "helpless' locked in a bathroom while the wind topple everything in the apartment was an all time low. Being on the top floor of a three story building wasn't the smartest idea but that what I called home at the time. The building literally dance to and fro as the wind took off the entire top. The screaming and tapping on the front door, I thought it was the neighbors trying to rescue us but their apartment was already gone and they were looking for safe area. Being the only male among 7 females meant I had to take the initiate to face the wind and try an locate safer area on the second floor. The windows were boarded up and communication was down so relying on instincts was the only option. Writing this story brings tears to my eyes...

I tried to open to front-door again but the force of the wind meant that it was a 10 minute ordeal as the wind basically shut it tight. When it did open, I quickly realized I won't get far and the wind would easily toss me away. I shut the door and crawl back to the bathroom as the wind was tossing things around the apartment. I told them our best chance was to wait until the eye and try an move from there. We hold each other hands, put towels over our heads and try to use our body heat to keep us warm. The greatest treat was the remaining roof caving in on us. The one child among us was probably the bravest, probably she could not comprehend what was happening around but she was a true trooper. Her mother, bigger sister, grand mother were crying the entire time. When the walls started to crack, I was like "this is it"everyone panic including me. I quickly closed the bathroom door as I knew it would have been instincts for folks to run out but that would have been their death. We had a mini group talk, and we all agreed if it caves in, it caves in but we are not moving. The drama continued for roughly 45 minutes and then our opportunity to move arise as the calm of the eye was over us.

We formed a line by holding each other hands as we tried to move to the second floor. The neighbors downstairs were happy to take us in, as the guys comb through the other apartments on the top floor in search of survivors. It was quite a frenzy and rejoicing as each other shared their experience. The biggest worry was the fact that the building was dancing in the wind and the cracks were apparent on the second floor. I got some clothing from the neighbor and changed into some much needed dry clothes. I joined the other guys and headed back upstairs in search of survivors. We managed to get everyone to the second floor, some of the survivors story were just a miracle. One couple story in particular was a mystery, the roof caved in on them with the woman 1 month from delivery. That was the most delicate case as both entrance were blocked off by debris. From the outside we could only hear their shouting, but we literally could not do anything. The wind at that point was starting to pick up and our time was limited, in short, we lifted the debris and used the window to get her out. Her husband basically said he used himself as the shield while she was a comma, 'a story I still can't comprehend' base on the weight of the debris on top of them. I truly believe that beyond the natural intervene in their case, probably something special about that baby. We all managed to get to the second floor and the second part of the Hurricane release its wrath.

The men were task with the responsibility of swiping the water that was gathering in the apartment and the women were securing what was left of the windows. It was survival mode in full swing. It soon became clear that the wind was more vicious and we abandon swiping water and focus our attention on securing the doors. The destruction happenings upstairs were quite clear as the noise got louder and louder. The rocking of the building took new highs as a vacuum like atmosphere was apparent for half hour. It was extremely painful on the ears. Everyone cried out in agony as folks were yawning trying to pop their ears. Then we felt four violent tremors, one after the other, that point, everyone was screaming man as well as woman. I was shaking uncontrollably and everyone was shouting "we need to move, its gonna come down on us". We remove the refrigerator and chairs that were blocking the door, but the visibility outside and strength of the wind meant we had to ride it out.

At that time, we all were just praying, my personal prayer, 'if I have to die, let it be quick, nothing falling on me with long suffering'. The ordeal continued for the next 3 hours and it was definitely divine intervention as we all survived from that apartment complex. most of the people from the complex I met for the first time but we were all determined to make it alive. Sadly enough that wasn't the case for those who lost their lives in the apartment complex up the road. I am extremely saddened by death of the grand mother and son and the mother and two kids that are still missing.

This is a short summary of my Hurricane Irma experience, I would share other experience with pics and videos once I get my phone and tablet working. They take some water and I hope the tech guys here can get them up and running. My heart and prayers are with the people of St Maarten/ St Martin. The last 12 days has been a horror story, I would share in another post hurricane Irma experience, but in short it was a survival of the fittest. Push to do the unthinkable as you fend for your survival.

I am good with water and food but just have to get clothing and start the rebuilding process. One hard nut to crack so gonna push on through, I got life, grateful for the experience and fingers cross I get the electronics up and running.

Sort:  

Upvoted! got coached by @kiligirl about your situation. best off luck, went to Sint Maarten a lot when i was woking on Cruise Ships.
Even blogged about the hurricane
https://steemit.com/travel/@heyitshaas/eur-100-donation-for-sint-maarten-thanks-to-your-support

That so good of @kiligirl... thanks for the warm wishes...well those tourist who got caught up ended up getting a little post Hurricane Irma cruise...you should definitely get in touch with anyone you have contacts with on the island and see what you can do, a phone call can move mountains

This is sad to hear. You have my assistance of any kind. I upvoted, reestemed and followed up my friend. Hope you get all the help you need! My hometown buddy @kid4life and I will do what we can to help out.

Thanks alot, I appreciate it

@daudimitch, I can't imagine what your community is going through. My heart is broken. Sent here by @kid4life's post. Resteemed.

Thank God I am alive, most important thing...just trying to see what works out now

Wow, what an experience that was to read. Brother, thank you for giving the glory to God - the roof not caving in was a miracle. So glad to hear you are safe and ok.

Hurricane Irma was a Horror story, extremely grateful to be alive...I got evacuated out of St Maarten, trying to head as far South of the Caribbean as possible an ride out this hurricane season, something is off, not to mention the unbearable heat as the season is not even half-way...Lost most of electronics, trying to tablet and phone up to share some pics and video.... have water and food for the time but in need of clothes and footwear...trying to head back into Aruba...Keep the people of the Caribbean in your prayers especially Northern Caribbean

Keeping them in prayer. 🙏

glad you're ok! :)

This sounds like a scene from a movie! What a terrifying experience you have been through! I hope you all can recover from this terrible disaster! Mother nature is a powerful beast... all the best and god bless you...

She can be destructive...I am trying to see what are the next moves...thanks for the concern

To dry out your phone and tablet, you will need a lot of uncooked rice. Maybe that will be hard to find now, but dry the outside of the phone and tablet as much as you can and place them in the bag of uncooked rice for a few days. If you can remove the phone's battery, that will help.

I am very glad you survived Irma. I'm sharing your story here on Steemit and elsewhere.

Thanks alot, I am trying that method, I manage to get the laptop somewhat functioning but the tablet is booting showing the startup page and cuts off. The phone seem like a lost cause. I have removed the battery from the laptop and that seem to do the trick but parts of the screen are spotted out but I am happy its showing good signs

Not sure if you have electricity yet, but blowing hot air from a hair dryer can help dry out the electronics.

Alright... I was told by the guy who service it to wipe it because he service it but same old...So I don't know, trying to see if I can play around it...finding a hair dryer now could be an headache but I would see

No worries bro, we gonna help you out one way or another!

Talk in Discord when you get a connection again! FOLKS LETS HELP OUT!

Thanks a million man, really appreciate it...thanks for reaching out

Glad to know that you made it through the ordeal. Now the rebuilding begins.

Yea...trying my best to see what works out...Alot of talking, plenty promises but nothing on the ground happening

thanks bro for that wonderful info. u deserve my vote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64186.90
ETH 2759.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66