Getting My Summit Viper Climbing Treestand Out of the Attic for Hunting Season!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #hunting7 years ago

_DSC0307.JPG

I've been working hard these last few weeks clearing out some brush and overgrown cedar trees in my little hunting corner of the property. There is a game trail that runs through this corner here and is a great area for hunting. My problem when moving in was that it was so overgrown you couldn't see anything through the brush.

_DSC0309.JPG

I've been stacking up the green limbs and trying to mix in some dry wood to get them to burn. Cedar will burn when its green if it gets enough heat from dry burning wood. If you burn cedar when it is really dry it will go up into a big fireball.

_DSC0310.JPG

I brought my trusty Winchester .22 Model 290. It is lightweight and has simple iron sights. Sometimes accidents happen in the treestand and you don't want to bust a nice scope by dropping it. I have a branch I can rest the rifle on in the tree so it can rest safely.

_DSC0313.JPG

My rooster Harry saw me here and I think he's wondering how I got up in the tree.

_DSC0318.JPG

Can you see the mockingbird in this picture? We get a lot of wild birds here and its fun watching them interact with the chickens. There was a family of wrens playing nearby.

_DSC0319.JPG

The chickens are all getting ready for bed! Our duck Mr. Quackers likes to be the last one in the chicken run. He likes to look out for the hens.

I hope you enjoyed reading about my evening in the treestand. Even if I don't see any game I can enjoy the scenery and have some time away from electronics. I'm looking forward to some good fall weather and lots of time hunting up in this little oak tree!

Rakkasan.jpg

Sort:  

Aww Mr. Quakers!

I can't wait for hunting this year. Just had a nice venison dinner with one from last year earlier in the week.

That's a nice little posting @rakkasan84
I enjoyed the read, thank you :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @rakkasan84 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82