Even scientists have a sense of humour

in #humour7 years ago

Although it's often very geeky. We're (very often) surprisingly un-serious people. Being a total geek, I love a good science nerd joke and tend to get sent a lot of them by my friends. I thought I'd share a few that made me smile or laugh outright. These are cheesy. You have been warned:

Chemistry

A good bit of chemistry humour never fails to get a cackle out of me. Of course it's almost always about combinations of chemicals and invariably a little bit puzzling to the non-chemically inclined:

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

Students

Though often the things that students write or ask are just straight-up depressing (like a second year zoology student asking me once if a sea anemone was a plant in a course titled 'Invertebrate Zoology'), they are often good for a chuckle. Really, ask any lecturer. This one made me guffaw:

image.jpeg

Biology

And of course, being a biologist, my favourites tend to be biologically themed, like this little groan-worthy gem:

image.jpeg

And, my personal favourite recently, drumroll ...

image.jpeg

Perhaps it's the time I spent recently in Galápagos that made this one hit home so hard but it really had me stitches.

So yes, science geeks do have a sense of humour, warped as it is. Sometimes we like to share it (to the detriment of our long-suffering friends and loved ones). At any rate, I hope these brought a smile to at least some of you :)

Happy Steeming People,
The Wise Fox

Image sources:
http://www.teacherastronaut.com/science-jokes.html
http://www.teacherastronaut.com/science-jokes.html
https://cloudsfactory.net/omg-oxygen-and-magnesium-quote.html
https://www.reddit.com/r/funny/comments/6fee52/ingenious/
https://9gag.com/gag/aYwKjXx/virus-retrovirus
https://www.reddit.com/r/funny/comments/2vct3t/darwins_dirty_little_secret/

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 39 (2/8/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

I was going to think of a Chemistry joke but all the good ones Argon!

Hehe, yeah I saw that one too 😂

Just popping by to say hola hollo. Keep up the great posts. :)

Thanks for stopping by :)

Showed your post to my girl friend who comes from a non science background. She didn't understand any of the jokes!

But for me it was a good laugh!!!

Happy Sunday XD

Glad you enjoyed them ;)

The adapted one is gold! Good post

Right? Absolutely cracked me up...

My favorite joke was the first one.

Excellent jokes with good humor!

I was tired after finishing up a bit of work and this gave me some good laughs. I enjoyed the jokes so much that I went through them again. The OMG joke is too good lol!!

Always a good time to read something like this when you're all 'worked out' ;)

This is humourous. I was a science student so I can understand all the humour! Thanks for sharing. It is a nice and easy fun read!:)

I had a good laugh. Especially the part on the retrovirus...that is a killer

Yeah, his hair is amazing 😂 Reminds me of that one character from 'that 70's show'

haha the first joke is the best one

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60480.09
ETH 2363.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65