The Great Cake Debacle

in #humor6 years ago

Screenshot_20180728-022622~2.png
(Stock photo of random cake and not mine)

My work family is so sweet (sometimes)

I was in the middle of set up at the restaurant the other day when all of a sudden the whole crew started singing "Happy Birthday". They bring out a cake with lit candles and I'm flipping them off with my middle fingers like I'm conducting a symphony ( I don't like to be the center of attention)

It was very nice so I man up and blow out the candles and cut into the cake that was made by our little deli/bakery that's owned by the company I work for. I should have known something was off with the cake when I cut into it. It was very dry and hard as a rock. You could tell it had been frozen and I'm not sure how long. I made everyone try it as a joke and we were all having a good laugh about it. Somehow, the cake catastrophe got back to one of the owners and she came over to the restaurant livid that were joking about the awful cake and let us know that we should say something about it and let them know it wasn't satisfactory. At this point everyone is ducking for cover. The dessert chef comes up to me a little bit later and apologizes for the bad confectionery while the whole time I'm telling her not to worry about it. I don't even like cake that much. She promises to make another for me but I'm insisting that it's really not a big deal.

Fast forward to the next day and I'm having dinner with my parents and family. After dinner there's another cake and we do the prerequisite candles and "Happy Birthday" again. I blow out the candles and cut into the cake and start passing it around the store bought Bundt cake. My parents are a few bites in by the time I get my own piece to take a bite but when I see the bottom of the cake slice, I notice it has mold on it. My dad ate it anyway and said it was still good. I'm like, nope!

About the same time, I get a text that there is a new cake waiting for me at my house to replace the one I got at work the day before. At this point all I can do is laugh. I get home and the latest cake is twice as big as the first and it's really beautiful and it tastes great and decorated perfectly.

A little while later I'm scanning and acknowledging all the Facebook messages wishing me a happy birthday. After liking and replying to quite a few, I make a post of thanks to everyone. My post read ;

" Thanks to everyone for the birthday wishes. You made turning 50 a piece of cake"

Sort:  

That's the face I made last night when my regular customers came for dinner and started the whole restaurant singing to me.

That sounds just awful!

Awesome .. thanks for sharing that story ... it sounds like a memorable 50th.

Here's a virtual cake and now you have gotten four ....

I promise there is no mold on it ... :)

Yay! Just what I needed, more cake. 😉

💡 @the-witty-waiter get upvote on 95% (VotingPower 9916.56).
The post can fall into a two-day rating and get a reward in the case of Upvote the post

Rules for calling bot:

  • Anyone can leave an appeal under the author of the post, which is in my subscribers.
  • The bot can be called no more than 3 times in 24 hours.
  • Upvote on 95%, if the Voting Power is more than 93%. Upvote on 85% if the Voting Power is between 92% and 85%. Upvote 75% if below 85%.
  • After the Upvote of the comment, the bot votes with more VotingPower.

Congratulations @the-witty-waiter ! You received a 13.67% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your task of 1000 SUP Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.*Join free here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

Looking Sooo Delicious 😋

mmm looks so delicious. :)

Ha! What a difficult run. For the person designated to make the cakes for the family (me), "a piece of cake" has a very different meaning than for everyone else. The phrase means "a time consuming pain in the ass".

Hopefully your dad didn't get sick.

I'm not a cake maker but the whole situation was a pain in the ass. LoL. I am leaving town for the next birthday. There was a big party planned and due to unforeseen circumstances it had to be cancelled and I was more than happy for the reprieve

You are a popular guy. I imagine it is nice to know so many people want to celebrate - and even better that you thwarted them.

It's all very appreciated.

cake looks so delicious, i have hungry
@millerjtaipe

howdy @the-witty-waiter! sorry for the late birthday wish but I guess they're a little over-rated sometimes anyway, when I was around people I never wanted them to know my birthdate. very entertaining post though!

Thanks for the birthday wishes. The whole cake thing has become a running joke with friends and family and due to the party having to be rescheduled there will probably be more cake soon. I still have some if you want it. LoL

haha! you still have cake from a few days ago? you really DON"T like cake that much. I'm a cake hog but don't eat it very often. that is awful humorous though. that was a very good post!
sorry I've been missing for awhile because I really enjoy our late night conversations.

Thanks. I'm going to bring cake to work today. It's only a few days old. Don't tell anyone

haha! taking an old cake to work at a restaurant! nobody will notice..lol. I'd take a 3 day old cake, I don't care.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52