Check out my NEW WHEELS! - A Message From the HIGH ESTEEMIAN

in #humor8 years ago (edited)

I earned a lot more in my first month on Steemit than I expected! So I bought myself some new wheels.

mercedes-564949_960_7200a65b.jpg

This is the Mercedes I saw when I went to get my new wheels.

It took awhile to figure out how to do it, but I finally cashed out my SBD, used it to purchase Bitcoin on Poloniex, and then sold the Bitcoin for fiat currency. Even after accounting for all the little transaction fees, and the somewhat low price of SBD on the exchange, I came out with enough money to make a major purchase.

That left me with a very important decision to make. What to do with the money? I thought about blowing it all on a new wardrobe and expensive dinners out, but I decided to be prudent with my Steemit fortune. What I really needed was a new set of wheels.

So off I went to my local tire shoppe. Reece Tire is the finest tire purveyor within a several-mile radius of where I live.

reece-tireb9138.jpg

When I arrived, I walked right up to the counter and told Mr. Reece that I'd like to see about purchasing the best set of tires they had for my Toyota Corolla.

I fanned the cash out on the counter so he would know I was a serious shopper.

I usually try to avoid flaunting my money, but when you are making a major purchase like this, it's important to let the proprietor know they're not dealing with someone who's just window shopping. If I'm about to drop 60 lincolns on one tire shopping excursion, I want to be treated with respect, not blown off and treated like a waste of time.

I don't know about you, but where I come from, 60 lincolns is a lot of money.

dollar-1341394_960_7202ee28.png

I think I got the message across. Mr. Reece took me into the back and showed me my options. First he showed me the cheapest brand.

"No, thank you," I said, trying not to sound indignant. "I'm not skimping on these tires. I'll go with the mid-range tires."

Mr. Reece raised his eyebrows. I could tell he was impressed. "Okay, Ms. O'Hara," he said. "We'll get those tires on right away and have you ready to go in about fifteen minutes."

You damn well better, I thought. I don't pay top dollar to be kept waiting all day. I fanned my cash again, just to be sure he got the message, and then I went to sit down in the waiting room.

I documented the whole thing so that my adoring fans on Steemit could vicariously satisfy their dreams of one day being able to buy new tires of their own.

imageca303.jpg

As you can see, the process starts with the removal of the old, "poor people tires." Pay close attention, because if you continue to work hard on Steemit, you might find yourself in the enviable position of making a new tire purchase, and you'll want to know how to proceed.

Now it's time to install the new, "Steemionaire" tires.

imageeb8ac.jpg

My Toyota is now up in the air, supported by jacks, while Mr. Reece's faithful employee puts on the first tire. I told him to be careful not to scuff it. I would be highly aggrieved if I ended up paying such a large sum for damaged tires.

Once the tires were replaced, I went up to the counter again to pay the bill.

Mr. Reece told me the total, and I slowly counted out his compensation in crisp, five dollar bills. (I could have paid in twenties, but the large stack of cash you can make with smaller denominations is much more impressive.)

"Five," I said, laying the first bill on the counter. "Ten, fifteen, twenty..." I licked my fingers. "Twenty-five, thirty, thirty-five, forty..."

Mr. Reece cleared his throat. I looked up. "Am I going too fast?" I asked. "Would you like me to start over?"

"No," he said. "Please continue."

"Forty-five," I counted. "Fifty, fifty-five..."

"That's good, Ms. O'Hara. You don't have to count it all out," he said.

Wow, I thought. My reputation of wealth must have proceeded me here. I hated to halt my money-counting performance in the middle, but it would have been unseemly to protest. I handed him the rest of the stack and collected my belongings. "Thank you, Mr. Reece," I said as I exited the tire shop. "We shall do business again."

Mr. Reece nodded, and I sashayed outside to where my Toyota sat waiting atop its brand new, thick tread tires.

Before I left, I could not resist the temptation to take a selfie in front of my new wheels.

imagea356e.jpg

My daughter, Steve, is no less delighted than I at the luxuries I am able to afford with my Steem wealth. It's hard to believe that only a month ago, we were forced to drive around on almost-shot tires.

And this is only the beginning. Who knows what riches next month's cash-out will buy? A new dishwasher, perhaps, or a slightly used oven. I'm not ruling out a trip to IKEA.

~This has been a message from the High Esteemian.~

I love you, Steemit!

(But all jokes aside, I am thoroughly spiffed to have made enough money with writing in one month to buy a new set of tires for my car. This is a dream come true for me!)


Hi! My name is Leslie Starr O'Hara, but I go by Starr. I live in the mountains of North Carolina and I write fiction, satire, humor, and the odd anarchist think piece here on Steemit. FOLLOW ME if you're interested in stuff about science fiction, writing, homeschooling, productivity, or just stuff that will make you laugh your britches off.

starr-in-sepia589d4.jpg

If you enjoyed this post, you might also like:

I'm Living Large After Making Almost $0.50 From Only 10 Posts on Steemit!
Exclusive Formula for How I Made My Breakthrough $18 Steemit Post
The REAL Reason You Were Late For the Thing


All tips from this post will go toward the purchase of a slightly used oven!



Sort:  

Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading.

I'll mention ya in my 3000th post coming soon....stay posted! ;)

Now these are the kind of writings I personally love to read here on Steemit, I am a little tired of the "live your life like this" type posts (although many are good reads, don't get me wrong). Keep it going and keep on writing !

Cool. I'm thinking of doing a series of Steemit advice columns from the High Esteemian. Life's too short not to laugh at everything.

Please accept my very modest minnow upvote for your excellent story. I was half expecting a Hot Wheels Merc when I clicked through but I am overjoyed you and your loved ones are now riding safely on new mid priced tyres. I look forward to the upcoming IKEA splurge report.

Thanks, Stephen! Your modest minnow vote is much appreciated. The IKEA post, if it ever happens, will be amazing. Because (confession) I've never been to IKEA before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72