Is man-flu worse than every other illness...Yep

in #humor6 years ago

It's widely accepted (by men) that man-flu is the most debilitating illness known to man. I say known to "man" because women just don't get it, the man flu or the fact that it is indeed the worst thing ever I mean. Most men will contract man flu at some stage and be rendered useless-couch-dwellers requiring hours of attention and nursing from ever-patient women who simply roll their eyes and soldier on. If you're a man you'll probably be familiar with the man flu which can take on various formats leaving the man in a state of complete and utter uselessness, devoid of all shame and pathetically incapable. Some of the symptoms are as follows, but are not limited to:

  • A snuffly blocked up nose
  • A headache
  • A stubbed toe
  • A sore throat
  • Hay-fever
  • A minor cut or abrasion
  • A hangover (a version of man flu that women tend not to tolerate well)
  • Sneezing three times in a row
  • Reluctance to go to work

As you can see above, man flu can be a terrible thing to have and can render a man quite ill. I won't go as far as saying bed-ridden however that has been known to have occurred on many occasions. Mostly man flu will mean the patient is rendered couch-ridden and the typical treatments need to be administered. These can be, but are not limited to: Television, DVD's, video games, snacks, no chores and of course a bell to call the nurse (wife/partner) to bring the snacks.

Naturally calling work to advise lack of attendance due to man-flu needs some attention. Now, simply citing man flu as a reason for not going to work won't usually work that well, especially if the boss is a woman. The patient will need to add some additional embellishments such as copious amounts of coughing and by applying a nasally-blocked-nose sort of voice. The HR department may also require a sick certificate from the doctor which shouldn't be too hard to obtain. Just tell the doc you have a migraine and he'll write out a certificate for you. Easy.

Now, having said all of that, you may be wondering what has inspired me to to write about man flu? Well, tomorrow I am due back at work after six weeks of vacation and to be completely honest with you I feel a terrible bout of man flu coming on. Being a dedicated staff member I simply don't want to spread the germs to everyone and so I thought I might take a couple of sick days to shake the man flu off. This all sounded like a great plan until I met a set-back. You see, my nurse, (I mean wife) had made a little purchase in England on our vacation for just this eventuality. I often come down with the man flu and as my nurse (I mean wife) she's the one that has to deal with it.

Pictured above is her solution to man flu. Mints. I'm not convinced they will work however I am obligated to give it a go in an attempt to avoid her wrath.

Pictured to the left you can see the man flu medication contained within the container which my nurse (wife) wants me to take. The little minty blocks are supposed to be a miracle cure for man flu and whilst they taste quite innocuous and minty I'm not so sure. Will these tiny minty things derail my intended sick days (couch-sitting-movie-watching-relaxation-time) or will they prove ineffective against the dreaded man flu. I guess only time will tell.

So, for now I better take my medicine or suffer the wrath that is sure to come. If I am miraculously cured of the man flu, that most deadly affliction, then I will drag my sorry-ass into work tomorrow morning. If by some most amazing (and fortuitous) chance of fate I am not cured by this new anti-man-flu treatment then look out couch, you and I are going to get familiar. Just to ensure I'm prepared I'm going to go look for my bell...One can't be too prepared for the man flu.

Sort:  

LOL 😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Sympathies! I have been at death's door on more than one occasion and can attest that Man Flu is the worst affliction upon mankind. It removes the will to live anywhere other than as close as possible to your favorite safe place and engenders delirious dreams of quitting your job, moving to an exotic place and living a rich, rewarding life while being a successful writer, or maybe a beach bum or a jet pilot.

And women don't belief its serious! Pffft!

24+ hours of flying will make any man, woman, child sick... If your wife is not sick, have no fear, that's because wives are no average women.. they have been subjected to their husbands' shenanigans for so long that their immune systems have grown beyond the comprehension of science.

they have been subjected to their husbands' shenanigans for so long

True dat!

To be honest my wife is a pretty special woman and I’m very lucky to have her. I’m actually not sick, just didn’t want to go to work so had a whine about it. We have some additional stress now because her mum was diagnosed with bowel cancer a couple days after we came back from EU and my wife is pretty upset. She lost her dad to cancer when she was 11 and is very close with her mum. It’s adding pressure we could both do without.

Thanks for your comments. As always they’re much appreciated @evolved08gsr

Oh wow, I'm sorry to hear about your mother-in-law. Cancer is seriously the worst. Hopefully the doctors caught it early and can operate / treat the cancer in a manageable way.

I'm hoping for the best.

Thanks mate, yes cancer sucks. I lost my mum to it also. I think most people have lost someone or know someone who survived. Hopefully they can make something happen for my wife’s mum. She will need surgery of course but just how bad things are we won’t know until next week. Thanks for your reply.

Oh bugger mate, I hope you survive and beter yo take them mints ol son. Must say I have often felt this flu and understand that it is a bitch, but I suffer another, even more stressful illness, guilt. Everytime I think about not going to work I start suffering from guilt and has to drag my ass off to work to earn my keep which rids me of the guilt and I immediately feel better. Must try the mints though. Sounds like a good idea.

I'm actually not sick at all...The prospect of going back to work is just getting the better of me. I have no choice to go back though so go back I will.

I gathered as you don't strike me as a lazy ass at all. You'll be okay, take the mints with you.

I'm feeling like something very secretive and highly exclusive has just been divulged, and I'm feeling like I need to ixnay on the anfluay. :)

At any rate, I don't want to question the wisdom of talking about this VERY SERIOUS AND DEBILITATING illness, but I'm concerned that maybe the cat was let a little too far out of the bag on this one, and that cough, cough, hack, hack some of us reading this, mainly the women, might question the actual validity of this man flu. AAAAAAAAchoooooo!

Which saddens me, since I myself have suffered from something on at least a few occasions that has, and I'm deadly serious unto death when I say this, that has pretty much kept me homebound and nearly become a part of the couch for several days. I would rather not this ever reach my wife. Her remedies are neither as minty or benign. :)

Ah yes, I had considered the implications of my post and thought for a moment that it was more information than us man-flue-suffering-men would like them to have. However I proceeded to post it anyway, mainly because most women listen to nothing men say anyway and if they indeed do listen they generally discount it.

To be honest though I think most women know the man-flu is a deadly illness anyway. I mean why else would they answer the snack-bell by bringing snacks, make chicken soup and plump up the pillows on the couch for us when we are stricken with the illness. Well, my nurse (wife) does anyway...Don’t they all?

Ummmmm—I think you're very fortunate to have a wife who even allows you to have a snack bell and ring it, let alone answer it with something more than a scowl. :)

Be that as it may, I can't argue with your logic about what most women do regarding what any of us men might say, so I will remove my previously stated hesitation from any consideration of further action and say to you, "Carry on, sir! Carry on!"

It’s worst thing ever! Women will never understand. It’s pure science too, we have more body surface so there is more area to feel pain!

It’s simple science! :)

Fortunately Never had this disease. My prayers and wishes for you.

Yes, it's a terrible disease and one that everyone should be aware of. If you're interested I suggest you google it to understand how it could affect you and the people around you. I have heard that it's most easily caught on Sunday's...Although tends to clear right up on Friday night in time for the weekend. Funny the way some diseases work.

Ps. @mmasim, judging by your reply I figure my attempt at humor in this post is lost on you. Oh well, maybe humor in Pakistan is different than in Australia.

hahahahahah Are you serious? I am not a native speaker so I lost it I guess hahah.

Ugh! You're one of those :)

My friend's mom, whenever her husband got a man-flu, used to say, "Maybe this will be the one that takes him." haha

I'm off to bed, but I hope for Faith's sake, that you're fine in the morning :)

Man flu can strike anywhere at anytime...You'll never understand, you're not a man. :)

haha you're right @galenkp. I will never understand, but trust me, Brian's had the man-flu plenty. I've seen it in action😎

All men get it. It’s inevitable.

Do NOT, I repeat DO NOT, take those pills! I can assure you it is a trap and you will regret it. Some of the side effects are growing a man bun, drinking soy half-caff lattes, and talking about your feelings. If you have already taken them, then I will miss you greatly and I am honored to have known you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18