Selling a belt to some people is...hard.

in #humor5 years ago (edited)

Selling belts from the Armadillo Leather Etsy shop to a younger shopper is often a challenge. This has happened multiple times and the conversation I have with the prospective buyer usually goes like this:

Buyer: How do I know which belt size to order?

Me: Measure an old belt from the start of the leather where it attaches to the buckle to the most used hole.

Buyer: Measure with what?

Me: A tape measure is best.

Buyer: I don't have one of those.

Me: Well they are handy to have around the house. You can find a 10 footer at your local Ace hardware store for a few bucks.

Buyer: I don't have a belt either. Thats why I am buying one.

Me: Don't you have an old belt laying around, like a dress belt you wore to a wedding or funeral once or something?

Buyer: No. I never wear a belt. My jeans are 34". Can I just order a 34"? I don't never wear a belt. Thats why i am buying one from you. I really like your such and such belt. It's really cool.

Me: No your jeans size won't always work. It depends on how high or low you wear your jeans and clothing manufacturers are very inaccurate with their waist sizes since they have decided that you are more likely to buy what is sized number wise smaller then your actual waist. A 36" jeans is as likely to be a 38" as anything. If you can give me an exact measurement of your waist from the point where you wear your pants, I can make you something that will fit.

Buyer: How do I do that?

Me: You need a tape measure to measure your waist. Not the kind of one from the hardware store. The kind you need is the one seamstresses and tailors use. Its a flexible cloth or plastic tape measure. (and I usually have to send them a picture of one)

Buyer: Where can I get one of those? I have a ruler, will that work?

Me: Yes you could use a ruler and a long piece of string, but I will grow old trying to explain how and I will bet you the price of the belt you do not have a piece of string nor have any idea where to get one. You can get the seamstress kind of tape measure at Wal Mart or a fabric store or Hobby Lobby.

Buyer: I will just order a 34" and send it back if it doesn't fit.

Me: No, these are custom made belts, made to the size you tell me. I don't just pull them off of a rack. I make it just for you. So there are no returns, please. One thing you could do is go to Wal Mart and try on belts and then the one that fits at the center hole is your size. Try that and get back to me with the size of belt that you find that fits and I will make you a belt.

And then I never hear from them again. I assume they took my advise and tried belts on at Wal Mart... and then bought a belt at Wal Mart.

I should get a commission.

Sort:  

You are mothering them and have no idea about clothing and sizes. I will order one as soon as I get my stuff together. There is a big difference to a hand made belt and a shop bought belt. Imitation leather for one and they don't last. Yours are great and will be calling on your services one of these days.

Lol. Buyers qualify sellers, but sellers should qualify buyers too!

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23