#13 Humans Of Steemit : @erodedthoughts (Funny, Knowledgeable Papa Of Ten Kiddos! One Of The Most Interesting Steemians!)

13.png

STEEMIANS!
Stop what you are doing RIGHT now and read this Humans Of Steemit post!

This man is just damm incredible!

@erodedthoughts is one of my fave people on this platform!

He insisted on being #13 because it's his lucky number!

ENJOY!


Just before we start, I am going to give you a bit of background info on Humans Of Steemit!

Humans Of Steemit showcases YOU.
Show who you are.
Get down to the nitty gritty of your entire being.
Steemit would not be here if it weren’t for you.
Steemit would not be good if it weren’t for you.

Recently, there has been a lot of speculation on the automatism (our beloved and not so beloved bot friends), being on here purely for monetary gains and where the humanity is missing on Steemit.

So let’s set that aside and show the humanity here. The people. You. We. Us.

There are two aspects to Humans Of Steemit!

A Q&A and Fun Crazy Steemit Thing!

Q&A

A Q&A to dive deep into the souls of the Humans Of Steemit!
The questions are designed to unearth the real Steemian beneath the username and avatar.
To show you the realest real they are.
From silly to serious to funny to deep.
All the Q's are in there.

Fun Crazy Steemit Thing

is the space in which you can totally let go and be YOURSELF.
Show who you are.
Whether that’s a crazy dance video of you doing your ‘I am drunk and have no idea what I am doing but I am enjoying myself dance’ or you singing at your best to your fave karoake tune or a drawing of you looking all peaceful and wonderful or the best photo you ever took or ANYTHING!
As long as it is YOURS.
As long as it represents YOU!


Plus the deal is that 50% of the SBD from this post (after payout) is transferred to the Human Of Steemit that is featured! I get to keep the SP for organizing this, putting it all together and whatnot! And the other 50% of the SBD goes to people who are helping out with this project!

Whoop whoop!
Exciting stuff right?
So let's get right to it!


Q&A

Who are you? Tell us anything and everything you’d like us to know about you!

I am the controversy starter, the fact breaker, father, husband, artist, poet but honestly just your all round normal guy. I just don’t go with the flow on most things and find stirring the pot causes greater growth as a community than hand holding and patting each other on the back.

What makes your heart smile?

My children; I am amazed looking into their eyes and listening, as I watch them grow into little people from babies. How they move from 100% dependent on you to what they consider 100% independent.

How did you get onto Steemit?

My friend, Jack. I have never met him but have shared many parts of my life with him via phone and Internet. We have the type of bond and friendship that most will never experience. We are yin and yang to each other but are yuan when we put our heads together. The type of friend you feel okay giving your crypto keys to in case you lose all of yours.

Where do you want to die?

Who wants to die?
I don’t, too much love in this world left to experience.

What’s something you DON’T like about all this new technology?

That there is a new flux of people jumping in but not really knowing what they are using or what they are leaving behind for eternity.

What mistake do you keep making and why?

Sharing and giving away knowledge. I always thought that showing people how to do things and get ahead was a great idea but the older I get I realize people in general are not good people and do not pass on shared knowledge unless it is to their benefit. I do it because I have a big heart and often underestimate people’s level of greed.

Is there anything you wish you could unlearn?

I don’t want to unlearn anything, every experience adds to life. Knowledge is one of life’s greatest gift’s it is up there close to loved ones.

If there was something you could un-do, what would it be?

I have experienced extreme loss but I am a firm believer everything happens for a reason and these experiences are the only thing that will allow each person to evolve into their best person.

Imagine that you magically have the ability to keep being alive without sleep, what would you do with the extra time?

This is a funny question as I have the short sleepers gene. I normally only need 2 hours per night to be at 100% unless I am sick or super stressed. We have 6 kids under our roof that haven’t left home yet and I spend more time with each one of them than they say any of their friends parents do. I have about 6 hours per night to myself 100%. It’s quiet time as it is night so I do art, meditate, read, prepare for the next day and watch a lot of TV. I am not sure what else I’d even care to do for another 2 hours per day as I normally end up going to sleep due to boredom not need.

What’s the stupidest thing you’ve done that actually turned out pretty well?

That would be dropping out of high school. I took my test at 16 got my G.E.D. and the rest has been an awesome wild ride.

What makes your belly ache with laughter?

Each of my kids, instantly from the time they start to talk. It starts with the repeating of things that we didn’t want them to repeat and escalates into their unique personalities. Kids say some amazing things if people take the time to really stop and listen and they will often out think you and teach you things as well if you really talk to them and treat them with respect.

What would be the scariest monster you could imagine?

Anything or anyone that hurts children is all that anyone should fear, as law prohibits us from freely being able putting them down.

What does Steemit mean for you?

I see steemit as a way to change the lives of others. It is also a place to kick back, have fun and not worry about others opinions of me as there are enough people for everyone to gain a following.

Which person inspires you the most and why do they inspire you?

My wife, she has been pregnant 10 times for a total of 86 months. She has given me the greatest gifts of my life and shared the worst losses with me at my side and we still grow closer every day.

What are you insecure about?

Losing my hair but I found shaving my head tends to make people who don’t know me from before completely unaware.

Describe your ideal life.

I wouldn’t change any of my life so the one I am living now with all of its losses and challenges just as it is.

Have you ever saved someone’s life?

Twice, that I am sure of, there may be a few others from random 911 calls I didn’t stick around for. The first and absolutely scariest moment of my life was when our last son was born. My wife gave birth over a tile floor and I caught our young one and had to get him breathing before we were able to call 911 for help. The second one was a disabled vet that rented the building next to my shop. A random kid walked in my shop and told me my building was on fire. I asked him to show me. There was a small window with flames and black smoke rolling out. I called 911 as the fire department wasn’t but 500 feet away but as soon as the 911 operator asked me if there was anyone inside I dropped the phone and kicked in the door. It was as if there was someone else in control. I have never had any desire to go near fire nor did I know if there was anyone who was inside. I did find my neighbor, on the floor just inside as I peered through the black smoke that was filling the room. I honestly don’t know how I saw him. I held my breath and reached into the room and grabbed him by his jeans and right arm, dragging him about 15 feet outside the house onto the concrete. It was right at that time the 1st responder showed up, a state trooper. He proceeded to preform CPR and the guy was alive again. I had no idea he wasn’t even breathing. I had never seen anyone go in or out of that building, I did not know there was anyone inside, I still have no idea why I went in but I did. I ended up finding out from a guy at the fire department that he had not seen any family in many years. I met his daughter about a month later as they were trying to save anything and everything from his apartment as he had passed away. She thanked me for saving him and that she got to see him one last time and he had the chance to meet his granddaughter whom he had never seen since he had a falling out with the family. That’s when I learned he was a vet and the rest of the story.

What do other people think is weird about you?

That will 100% have to be my sense of humor. This world is way too serious about a lot of little things that truly mean nothing in the grand scheme of life.

What’s one responsibility you really wish you didn’t have?

A 300 year old house while so many live in it on a daily basis.

If you had a personal flag, what would be on it?

Bernie fucking Sanders, that all I can think of when the word flag is in play.

If a genie granted you 3 wishes right now, what would you wish for?

As long as I got 3, I guess the order doesn’t matter. No-one had the ability to lie, children never got sick or died before their parents and the world had clean water and food. I hope that doesn’t count as 5 wishes, lol.

What do you think about when you’re by yourself?

Nothing, it is my quiet time.

What would you want to be written on your tombstone?

The World’s Greatest Husband and Father. Only if that is how I end up leaving this world. Very little else truly matters.

Who is the person you trust most?

Life, I know that is not a person but it is in fact what makes us all who we are.

What’s your favorite word?

Fuck. Mostly as an exclamation but I also enjoy it as a verb and noun.

Who is your fave (or one of your favorite) Steemians and why?

Two, they are polar opposites’ and I feel I fit somewhere in between the two. @papa-pepper as he puts family first and does some pretty out of the box type post but is down to earth and @berniesanders as he calls people on their bullshit and does what he can to correct what he feels is being done wrong all while using his own money

If you were arrested with no explanation, what would your friends and family assume you had done?

This would depend on who you asked. I am not able to narrow down an answer for everyone but either being naked or doing more than double the posted speed limit. This would all change if you asked anyone I have ever caught messing with my kids or wife.

When you looked in the mirror first thing this morning, what was the first thing you thought?

I honestly do not spend time in front of the mirror.

What’s the most ridiculous fact you know?

That is classified but I do know to make a rocket launcher out of kitchen supplies and a ton of other useless things.

What is something that you just recently realized that you are embarrassed you didn’t realize earlier?

That silver is not rare and most facts about it are false just made to sell it as an investment.

What is your nickname?

Da Vinci

As a Human Of Steemit, how do you contribute to Steemit?

As a human I go out of my way to help as many other humans as possible. I have given away over 100% of what I have earned and purchased delegation for a few others. I am still new and do not fully know what I want to do with my blog and I have never owned or done one before so this whole experiment is completely new to me. So this question I am not really able to answer completely or fully at this stage.


Fun Crazy Steemit Thing

As a human who likes to share knowledge, @erodedthoughts came up with this great challenge! Take a look :)

https://steemit.com/skillgift/@erodedthoughts/challenge-to-parents-and-big-brothers-big-sister-what-can-you-teach


OH @erodedthoughts, I cannot thank you enough for being part of Humans Of Steemit!

I REALLY REALLY love the way you think about life. And are such a huge inspiration in the way you are with your family.
I hope one day to meet you and all of your familia!

Do you realize that you are one of the most interesting people walking this planet?

Thank you for being so raw and honest.
Thank you for showing us your love for your kids and wife.
Thank you for being one funny dude.
Thank you for participating on Humans Of Steemit!

And for everyone else who read this, please go follow @erodedthoughts and support him by upvoting, commenting and following him!


If you want to be featured on Humans of Steemit to combat the botty world online and to show your heart, get in touch with me!
@ashleykalila on steemit.chat and Discord.
Or send me an e-mail : [email protected]

If you want to support Humans of Steemit, please hit follow on this blog, upvote this post and if you really LOVE it, resteem it!
(But really only do that if you REALLY REALLY want to! I believe in a life where we only do what we want to do!)

Humans Of Steemit believes in You.
And so do I!

I had help with editing by the lovely @deadsparrow. He is a good dude.
You should go talk to him.

BIG love,

Ashley

@ashleykalila is my blog just in case you'd be interested to see what I write about!

Made by the wonderful @stellabelle

BANNER HUMANS OF STEEMIT.png

My LoveProject is @humansofsteemit! Featuring the humans behind the Steemit usernames!

Sort:  

I think this is a cool dude :P nice one here, I like what you're doing can remember your first day on discord when you were wondering about the platform in lionslegion channel :P nice to see you're doing so great in growing a rep here big up to that

yeaaaa
you were one of the first people I spoke to via Steemit :) hehe

Thank you lieve schat!!!

Wow! @erodedthoughts , I just knew you from your wild send of humor in the chat room, you are quite a dynamic fellow though.

"I have experienced extreme loss but I am a firm believer everything happens for a reason and these experiences are the only thing that will allow each person to evolve into their best person." This is so very true!

It is a hard lesson to learn and sometimes takes a little while to remember after an event but it makes life so much more clear.

Hmmmmm......interesting. Very interesting, indeed! That story about the veteran was just....wow. I don't even know. For some reason, I'm at a loss for words with this one. I guess being a veteran myself, it's always hard for me to see/hear/read about any other veterans going through a hard time and having a falling out with their family because I can relate to that to a certain extent.

I never served at the instruction of my father who is a veteran from Vietnam. It wasn't until the past five years he finally went and started seeing someone for how messed he got. He is 100% a different person that I went from hating to a man I respect and want to spend time with and have him in my children's lives. That has been an amazing change in my life and one I never fully understood until the change happened. He still won't talk about any of it with me but I have finally asked him if I can be the one to get his purple heart when he passes. I hope I can learn more about it all with the paperwork that is in with the medal.

Wow. Reading that comment literally brought tears to my eyes. It's true, the things we experience in the military change us and make us...unrecognizable by our family members and loved ones. There was a time in my life when the rest of my family completely avoided me whenever I would go into the living room, and they would all just retreat to their bedrooms for fear of upsetting me and setting off my PTSD. When I realized what was happening, it broke me because I realized that the people I loved the most in this world saw me as a monster. It killed me. Thank you so much for sharing that with me.

Glad you were able to see it and not deny it indefinitely.

OH guyssss
@erodedthoughts and @rodeo670, you both are so openly honest it makes my heart smile!!!

Happy I am in touch with both of you gents!

I am so happy too! So grateful to now be a part of this amazing collection of humans on Steemit! :D Thank you so much for coming up with this idea, and for allowing me to be a part of it all! <3

What number are you @rodeo670 I am going to have to keep up on these things moving forward.

wow... respect for raising 10 kids

Nine, we lost our youngest little boy at the time in 2015. Worse day of my life and why one of my three wishes is that no parent could out live their children. Such a blessing to be given one final child this year to help ease that pain.

Have you read my story about how 13 is my families lucky number it all started with my grandparents the their 13 children. The number keeps popping up in my life.

Awesome interview! Love his answers! Especially the controversy starter! It does make life more interesting.

Shocked at the 10 kids answer! I’m 1 of 10 but you just don’t see that anymore.

Where do you fall in the 10? I am the baby of 6.
I could not imagine life without them.

I was wrong about you being a sock account, nice reference point about life
muy bien

Nope, just your average trouble maker having fun.

The story about the fire. Thats epic 🙀

Still one of the saddest stories I get to recall. I think we'd all like a little more time in the end but I don't think any of us want to spend it in the burn unit yet I guess it is better than alone.

Why am I absolutely not surprised @erodedthoughts wanted to be #13. The old man is starting to become damn predictable. Geez.

Of course, when I say if ever I make it to HoS it will be only as #69, that is NOT predictable. Not.at.all.

My wife and I have always talked about having a bakers dozen, so 13 became my lucky number.

Hmmm... very insightful. This is one good dude people! Make sure you check him out, for reals!

Now that I know we can request numbers Ashley... I need to be human #42... LOL

The answer to life, the universe, and everything?

Prezactly! You win an upvote!

Oh yay! #}^¥#£¥_
gets flattened by bulldozer building a highway

You can not request numbers, Mike, lol.......

I can request anything! I can also be denied everything!

My interview is written... I leave it to Ashley to decide what number I end up with...

Sorry, I’m 42. That’s a fact.

At least for some more months it’s mine. Correction: it’s me. Simple as.

Did you just call yourself a simple ass 42 y/o?

Hmmm... Guess you will just have to wait a couple of months to be HoS #43 then won't you?

I saw what you did there.

noo nooo nooooooo

I've got yours in already ;)
So no requesting numbers!

Such a great interview and wow @erodedthoughts is such a genuine and amazing person. I love how nurturing and loving he is towards his family. Enjoyed this interview a lot and @ashleykalila thank you for highlighting such amazing people on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58