Saturday morning hugelkultur

in #hugelkultur6 years ago

Happy Saturday, everyone!

This morning after a wonderful breakfast of bacon, eggs, and avocado we got out and worked on the new hugel bed. We moved all the other brush to it in an attempt to make some progress. Guess it worked!

IMG_20181007_130041196.jpg

Here's the before pic. The pile on the left is what we added to the bed.

It's sunny out. First sunny Saturday in seven weeks apparently. So of course, we donned our shorts and shoes (for the kids. I go barefoot) and headed out!

Here it is! Probably close to two feet tall. It was almost a foot before, and now its almost halfway done! I'd like to end up with four foot high beds.

IMG_20181020_112437618.jpg

With Farmer Sam for scale...

IMG_20181020_112523544.jpg

And with seven foot tall okra for scale...

IMG_20181020_113155269.jpg

Sorry I didn't post yesterday. If I was home, I was asleep. Hope y'all have a great weekend!

Stay relevant

Nate

Join Us On Discord

Sort:  

Congratulations @nateonsteemit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Avocado is so good with eggs. When I first heard the suggestion I was skeptical, but now I love it. The hugel beds are so interesting, now I want to make some.

Over the summer my cousin showed me a recipe with an avocado stuffed with cheese where the seed was, then wrapped in sausage and bacon and cooked on the grill. Best thing I ever ate.

Hugel beds are supposedly awesome. They hold water and make amazing soil as the wood decomposes and is eaten by worms and fungi. They're supposed to never need watered because the wood soaks up everything and releases it slowly. I'm sure Texas summers will test that theory. They're definitely worth looking into :)

@nateonsteemit, go and place your daily vote for Steem on netcoins! http://contest.gonetcoins.com/

Just voted for my second time, thanks for the reminder. We're almost there!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74