How to get over writer's block

in #howto6 years ago

“No one ever gets talker's block. No one wakes up in the morning, discovers he has nothing to say and sits quietly, for days or weeks, until the muse hits, until the moment is right, until all the craziness in his life has died down. Why then, is writer's block endemic?”
-Seth Godin-

I look at this quote when I am trying to will myself to write. Sometimes it works. Most of the time it just makes me think, “Man, fuck that dude.” Anyone who has ever had the audacity to call themselves a writer knows what a soul crushing kick in the beanbag that writer’s block can be. Fortunately there is a sure fire cure for that crippling pain in your gut that keeps all those pretty words from flowing through your fingertips, and it’s called cocaine. I know what you are thinking, “But I can’t afford cocaine.” Neither can I. That’s why I’ve spent hours scouring the internet for tips on how to beat writer’s block from successful authors to find out their secrets. During the course of my research I was quickly discouraged because every author gave widely contradicting advice. I did find some common denominators for overcoming writers block.

The first piece of advice is to take a walk. Light exercise increases blood flow to the brain and gives you an energy boost. It also gives you the opportunity to reflect on what you want to write without being distracted by the T.V. or the internet. Taking a walk forces you off of your ass and to get some sunlight, which stimulates the mind and body. This is especially important for people who sit in a dark hole in front of their computer all day.

The second thing is a little more complicated. Of all the writers I researched, every one of them was acutely self-aware, specifically when it came to what held them back from writing. To combat this, they all constructed elaborate rituals around getting ready to write. You can’t force inspiration to come visit, but if you know where it likes to hang out, you can be there waiting for it. Our brains are creatures of habit that love patterns. That’s how Pavlovian responses, smells that bring back memories, and sexual fetishes work.

For me, I like to write outside. There’s something about seeing trees and green shit that helps me find that inner peace to write. Worst case scenario, I need a window to look out of while I’m writing. I like piano music while I write too. Some people like sitting in a coffee shop while playing a recording of a slaughter house. I have a thinking cap that I only wear when I write. When I put it on, my brain knows it’s go time. If it’s stupid and it works, it isn’t stupid. Basically, “Know thyself.”

The biggest hurdle to writer’s block is fear. We are crippled by the fear that we are going to write shit. The answer to this problem is to give yourself permission to write shit. Just throw out whatever garbage is in your head with the confidence of knowing that you can always go back and polish it later. I think about this every time I sit down to write. I’ve noticed that when the words flow from my fingers and I’m swaying in my seat like a concert pianist at the keyboard, I go back and everything I’ve written is self-indulgent pig shit. When I really have to work to pick my words, it shows. Neil Gaimen says when he goes back and reads his book he can’t tell the difference between the parts he wrote when he was in the zone and when the words had to be pulled from his head with a crowbar. I find comfort in that.

A popular method for getting something down on paper when you find yourself suddenly doing laundry in an attempt to hide from a blank page is the Pomodoro technique. Basically, set a timer for about 30 minutes and tell yourself you have to write for those thirty minutes. It is an easy goal to set and easier to do since you know it will be over soon. After your time is up go do that load of laundry or have a sandwich and do another thirty minutes.

Distractions are productivity killers. Turn off the T.V. Hide your phone. Don’t get on the internet. When I’m desperate to get some writing done and I just can’t seem to quick fucking around on the internet I use a Chrome extension called Productivity Owl. It blocks me from using the internet during the time of day I set for getting writing done. It will allow me to open my browser for a minute or two if I need to look something up, but then it kicks me off. This is great for me because I have poor self-control.

Act like you are at work. Don’t plop down in front of the computer in your jammies. Take a shower, do your hair, and suit up. Your brain will think it’s business time.

If all else fails, there’s still cocaine.

Sources: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8

Sort:  

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 3.0% @trafalgar upgoat, thanks to @davedickeyyall
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @themadgoat to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

All good tips!

For me, getting away from the computer is key. There's too many distractions - especially now that I've discovered Steemit! A manual typewriter, or a fountain pen, can work wonders.

However, I've discovered that writing nonfiction on Steemit comes a hell of a lot easier than novels or short stories. I'm torn about whether to dive into Nanowrimo tomorrow. Maybe I should just embrace the current flow and accept what I'm good at.

I've wasted a lot of time trying to write the great American novel. Somewhere down the line I realized I wasn't having any fun and my story sucked. I'm a foul mouthed commedian, and I'm at peace with that.

For the want of cocaine I could be a Hemmingway

I'll go half on an 8 ball with you.

I love the first line. And the second line. And the third line. By then my pockets are empty, my nose is bleeding and I've written all the lyrics of LedZepplin II and can't remember why I'm still in the bathroom. I've had writers block for ten years, apparently not fucking psychos, hitting bongs and swimming in debt is my writers block. Now I just need to be inspired in conversation, fed ideas to bounce around in the old head thinky machine. Find yourself a muse, which just means someone who amuses you, it's fucking easy, steemits full of them, hell, I'll rent you mine for a gram🙇🏼

I can't lie, did cocaine once with some rich kids, had fun but it's to rich for my blood.

Shits expensive and I ain't buying Gucci on my steem budget. Besides, your a free woman, I'm only tricking him into paying me what you would do for free😝

Being amusing I mean.

Well now that I know, I want a cut of the profits (shouldn't have opened your big mouth.)

😵

NP, check your wallet

Wow!!?!! Where do you buy your weed? - I want that dealers name. I could buy soooo much weed if this is the cost of half a gram in steem dollars.

You support your own habits, I meant a Bazooka Joe or somethin.

Hard up for bubble gum and comics? Getting a little shakey when you can't get your fix? Now I see why you hang around me. You are just a comic junky.

You should try meth. It's cheaper and it lasts longer.

Last thing the world needs is a new Guns and roses album, which is all meth ever inspires.

This post has received a 1.72 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @themadgoat.

This post has received a 0.77 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @themadgoat. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Congratulations @themadgoat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Happy 400 followers!
Tell your next milestone - Hope to see more soon. Do you have funny poetry goat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05