How to Harvest and Preserve Kale

in #howto8 years ago

This how-to tutorial will walk you through the entire process of preserving Kale.

The extremely long growing season this year produced a non-stop crop of fresh Kale from my garden all season long. I am amazed at the amount of fresh greens one of my small 5' x 5' raised beds offered me this summer. I have enjoyed a bountiful harvest of fresh, nutrient rich Kale and have had to share a lot of it with family and friends. You can only eat so much of one thing, right?

Now that fall is upon us in Western, N.Y. it is time for the final harvest. I took the above pictures of the two varieties of Kale I grew this year. You can see how nicely it did for me.

To harvest, cut the Kale stem slightly below where the leafy part begins to grow.


Rinse in water

Thouroughly wash all the leaves to remove any dirt and drain well.


Fold leaf in half

The easiest way to remove the stems is to fold each leaf in half. Then slice down the edge of the vein with a very sharp knife.

Trimming the stems

Continue trimming the stems from all the leaves.

Stems Removed



Cut into smaller pieces

I like to chop some of the larger leaves in half before I blanch them.

Bring water to a rapid boil

Blanch Kale 3 minutes

This will kill any bacteria that may have been on the leaves and prevent the Kale from spoiling.

Remove from boiling water





Place Kale in ice cold water

- Putting the Kale in an ice cold water bath will stop it from cooking any further.

- When it has cooled down, drain the Kale in a colander.

- Label your containers with date and contents

- Place desired amount of Kale into each container.

- Freeze and enjoy the fresh taste of Kale all winter long.

Thank you for stopping by, I hope you enjoyed this photo tutorial on preserving Kale.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing your day

Previous Posts @sunscape
My Website
My Etsy Store
My Tweets on Twitter

Sort:  

I cover my kale beds with a frost blanket and can eat kale all winter. The kale and chard I have can withstand freezes, -32 degrees easily even without row covers. I've canned kale and chard too. Great post!

Wow, I have never tried the row covers. I do use cold frames in early spring to keep my young seedlings from the early frost. I still have my Chard and some Kale still in the garden, I may just put up a quick cold frame to keep them going. I am so glad you mentioned this as I don't usually prolong my growing season as my gardens produce so much that I have enough produce to last till the next season. Great idea, thanks.

I'm from Oregon, we had a small two acre hobby farm, with the row covers the kale and chard survived a week of -zero degrees with a little frost burn. Try saving a few plants and let them go to seed in the spring. You get free seeds and endless greens. Some of my plants here 3 years old and still going strong. I would cover the bare stocks in dirt and new plants would grow.

Wow, that is great info, I will definitely do that with the ones still in the raised bed. It will be nice to see them in the spring. Thanks for the heads up.

In The Netherlands, we like to harvest kale after the first frost, because it is supposed to taste better then. Any such habit in your part of the world?

Yes, sometimes we do that here too. I harvest all summer long to enjoy it and always do the last this time of year as our nights get cold. It is always tasty to me either way. ;-)

Wow, that is awesome. I loved it ;) @sunscape

Thank you @anahilarski, I love that Kale is so rich in Vitamins and minerals. It is very good for you!

Very useful post, thanks very much

You are very welcome, thank you for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65692.54
ETH 2944.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67