You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Harvest and Preserve Kale

in #howto8 years ago

I cover my kale beds with a frost blanket and can eat kale all winter. The kale and chard I have can withstand freezes, -32 degrees easily even without row covers. I've canned kale and chard too. Great post!

Sort:  

Wow, I have never tried the row covers. I do use cold frames in early spring to keep my young seedlings from the early frost. I still have my Chard and some Kale still in the garden, I may just put up a quick cold frame to keep them going. I am so glad you mentioned this as I don't usually prolong my growing season as my gardens produce so much that I have enough produce to last till the next season. Great idea, thanks.

I'm from Oregon, we had a small two acre hobby farm, with the row covers the kale and chard survived a week of -zero degrees with a little frost burn. Try saving a few plants and let them go to seed in the spring. You get free seeds and endless greens. Some of my plants here 3 years old and still going strong. I would cover the bare stocks in dirt and new plants would grow.

Wow, that is great info, I will definitely do that with the ones still in the raised bed. It will be nice to see them in the spring. Thanks for the heads up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70971.83
ETH 3830.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.41