HOW TO PROPAGATE A FIG TREE VIDEO - THE EASY WAY

in #howto6 years ago

These days, simple, quick, and easy just works best.


In this video, I share with you just how easy it really can be. Also, I demonstrate my method and show some results too. Check it out, and realize that anyone can propagate plants and grow food!

VERY, VERY EASY!

HERE IS THE BASIC PROCESS

That handful of sticks is actually a bunch of dormant fig cuttings. Each bump on those sticks is actually a node where growth will come from. If the node is far enough under the soil surface, it'll sprout roots. If the node is just beneath the surface or above the soil, it'll grow leaves. Yup, it is really that simple.

The row running down the center of the photo is a row of fig cuttings that I planted a little while ago. Now, I've finally seen a little growth, so at least some are going to work out!

This little green growth means success. Check out the video for more, but this should provide our family with food for years to come!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-easy-fig-propagation

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

very interesting and educational papa-pepper, I can see how growing these little fig trees can be good money, are you going to keep any of them for yourself? I've always heard that the fig trees can be huge in size. I assume propagate means the same as the word "plant."
what were you in your former life, a horticulturist?
great strategy, great post, great video, great photos, oh jeez what else? great hair!

LOL! You know, they do grow well in Texas...

we actually have that on our list to plant!
God bless you papa-pepper!

Are you on a private chat like https://steem.chat ?

If you are and want to get me a mailing address, I could ship some out for free onTuesday...

thanks so much papa-pepper that means alot but we are in the early planning stages for what and where we want to plant so it'll be a year or so before we're ready, got alot of debris, bushes and shrubs to clear out first.
much appreciated though!

If you don’t get harsh winters fig trees will grow great. They like the heat and not too much water, rocky soil.

thanks for the information @hrissm. well we have the heat and not too much water but the soil in our area is a black clay type so that may not be ideal.

It should still be fine. We barely have any soil here in a small back yard / garden, just brown clay that we’ve been mixing in top soil and fertilizer over the years.

You're welcome!

Wow
Well-done sir
It's been a while
I've been away trying to sort our issues related to serving my fatherland. Reading another post from my favorite homesteader is a good way to start the day.
Nice post
Lovely pictures and video for proof.

Good cultivation .. Yes ... for the next months there will be food.

So easy! Thanks for sharing... @papa-pepper

Hey Papa,
I was wondering if this works on any other fruit or nut trees or if it only works on Figs?

A few others are also this easy, like Mulberry trees, but many require a lot more work.

Very good, successful for you mate.

Oh my. Figs and honey!

Homesteading! The best! I like what you are doing... (^^)
But I hate the taste of FIGS... (^
^)

How I love to see people planting or gardening! Good job papa-pepper! I hope you post those plants when they grow up :)

Beautiful pics mate!!!

Thanks man! I appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72