HOW TO MAKE A GUITAR PICK FROM A HOTEL ROOM KEY, REWARDS CARD, OR OLD CREDIT CARD

in #howto7 years ago (edited)

IMG_6198.JPG

It seems that I almost always learn something new when I stop in St. Louis.


Today I learned that you can make some great guitar picks from old cards, like hotel room keys, old credit cards, and various rewards cards. I can't even remember how many of these I have just thrown out in my time!

We spent the night with some friends in St. Louis who have a wonderful talented family. Our time here is often filled with excellent conversation, and music. This time I happened to notice that some of their guitar picks had various hotel or grocery story logos on them. At first I thought that maybe they were hand-cut, but they all seemed so uniform. I asked, and they were more than happy to show me how they do it, so I'll take the opportunity to show you.


As it turns out, their "secret weapon" is a pick punch. I just looked and it looks like they retail for about $25 online at their website. Once someone has the tool, the process is very simple.

The tool itself looks similar to a stapler, and uses the same amazing technology as a hole punch... but this hole just happens to be shaped like a guitar pick and the tool is strong enough to cut through hard plastic.

When you find the card you want to use, in this case an old hotel card...


You line it up in the tool.


Once it is lined up, you squeeze.


Suddenly, a guitar pick shaped piece of plastic jumps out.


And there you have it!


The tool even has some sand paper attached to the bottom of it so you can smooth any rough or sharp edges.

If you have a whole pile of old plastic cards....

You can quickly make a handful of guitar picks.

One of their sons even showed me that if you do it properly, you can even get 6 guitar picks out of just one card!
IMG_6217.JPG

The only thing left for me to do is to learn how to play guitar!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-pick-punch


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)


The long-term purpose of this account is to help provide the necessary funds to live a self-sufficient lifestyle at home with my family.

Sort:  

cool, you should try wood picks too, you can punch them out of veneer sheets and glue them together with CA or wood glue. I like to use 2 wood types so I get different tones on up vs down strumming

Nice bro, now if only I could improve my guitar skills. I'm more of a piano player, but the sounds of a nice acoustic guitar is very beautiful. Upvoted

Thanks Brother, it was neat to see and a great idea!

You're welcome. It is very cool.

Now that's something I could use!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Maybe I could just mail you a few.

THere's this one, too. I found this a couple months ago, and have the link saved - hoping to buy one of these for my husband sometime... Really cool idea - these pick hole punchers!!

https://www.amazon.com/HQMaster-Professional-Plectrum-Present-Personalized/dp/B00HN0VHGG/ref=as_sl_pc_qf_sp_asin_til?tag=goodshcom-20&linkCode=w00&linkId=3f12f1630069662f29c1ef57ea22af4e&creativeASIN=B00HN0VHGG

Another making idea for when you are living off the land?

Pick punch-amazing! My kid is mainly a classical guitarist but she's gonna love this.

Haha ! Thats pretty cool ! If my mom was still alive she would have loved it ! She was a singer/ guitarist ! Thanks for shareing !🎸🎼🎸🎵🎸

Thank you... maybe you can follow in her footsteps.

Oh ! I tried a very long time ago to learn guitar could never afford lessons and could nt figure it out too well on my own , im left handed as well ,and never had the time to after my kids came along ! Maybe once i move to the country ! It might be something to take up once i retire ! Thanks for the idea !🎸🎸🎸

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58