How to Fix a Leaking Sunroof

in #howto6 years ago

P1100304.JPG

Howdy Friends!!

Welcome To

A Step by Step Tutorial

On How To Fix a Leaking Sunroof

Just because I am stupid and too cheap to go to the dealer does not mean you should be. May I say Do Not Try This At Home!!! Take your vehicle to a dealer instead of setting off an airbag!!

So some people may be thinking the Old Guy has really weirded out. Why would he post about a leaking sunroof on a Hummer H3. Well I know not too many people on Steemit may have a H3, but let me tell you this is a huge issue for Hummer owners. I have talked to many that are tired of taking the H3 to the dealer and spending $300 a pop to get the sunroof drains cleaned, only to have to go back in six months or a year! I really hope that some will google this post and see that they too could put up content on Steemit and make a little bit for their time!
Opened up the door to a couple of inches of water on the floor.

P1160917.JPG

Few things in live are as off putting as opening the car door and getting hit by the waft of mildew. It has been a common problem, and I was past my limit for dealing with it. I figured there had to be a fix.

My video explaining the process.

The easiest way to fix this problem is to watch along as I work on it :)

P1170005.JPG

My first order of business was to find the drain tube. You need to remove the pillar cover. To do this, I removed the plate that says "Airbag". Yeah, AIRBAG! I am messing around the airbag!

P1170004.JPG

I could see the drain tube and where it snakes behind the dash to the firewall.

P1170007.JPG

I removed the side panel from the glove box, so I could reach in and remove the grommet from the firewall. The grommet or plug gets, well, plugged. Look at how some genius designed the plug to get plugged LOL!!

P1170011.JPG

There is normally an x cut into the rubber that should allow the water to seep out, but as you can see it gets filled with gunk and blocks the water from seeping, which naturally forces it to seep inside the cabin!!

P1170010.JPG

Because of the rubber flaps being so soft and supple, a drill would not get mine reamed out. I used a propane torch to heat a good sized bit that melted the rubber flaps out of the way.

P1170060.JPG

This should allow water to easily travel out of the line.

P1170025.JPG

Well it works, water flows freely out the two front holes, one on each side in the firewall. . I am happy to not have to worry about having a stinky car!!!

P1170017.JPG


Thanks for stopping by!

All words and images are mine and can be also found on my various social media sites.
Twitter
YouTube
Twenty20

footer.png


Be Safe!! Don't get hacked! - Post with your posting key!

If you don't know, Watch the video!!!

Sort:  

This is totally a Charlie Brown teacher moment for me. At the moment, I am trying to figure out how to take the training wheels off my son's bike ... fixing and hummer ... not sure that is within my capabilities:):):)

Send pics on Messenger if you want a hand. They shouldnt be too hard.

That would be handy when the rainy season's here.
Thanks!

Does every sunroof leak? Mine does too! Must be the same genius that designs them all! LOL

What @cecicastor said :) Ugh....sunroofs are nice but I don't know anyone whose roof doesn't leak - well maybe now. You now. :)


Well . . . I would be dangerous with the tools for
right NOW but at a later date I wouldn't.
Awesome tutorial that we all can use or tell a friend.
KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK
Steemians can, only, benefit from you doing so.
Better late than never . . . hehehe > I hope.
https://steemit.com/treetuesday/@pitterpatter/steemit-tree-tuesday-on-wednesday
giphyPattertreehouses.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62907.73
ETH 2531.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62