To My Friends who want to Join Steemit. [Illustrated guide for beginners]

in #howto7 years ago (edited)


Oops. I totally called it "mark up" when it is Markdown. haha Well, here is a super helpful blog created by @xeldal teaching the basics of formatting with links to more tutorials.

https://steemit.com/steem/@xeldal/how-to-liven-up-your-steem-posts-with-markdown

Here is a great blog by @alexc breaking down how to get paid:

https://steemit.com/steem/@alexc/now-you-ve-been-paid-in-steem-dollars-what-should-you-do

I don't know what to write about!



I hear this one often and I suggest you create an account and spend some time browsing the site. Checking out tags and content you are interested in. Read some blogs from other users in order to get an idea of what type of stuff you can post. But really, it is limitless. I tend to post about radically different things day to day. I sometimes share art, personal stories, articles about mental illness, motivational tips, you name it!

What do you do from day to day? What makes your experiences unique? What are you passionate about? What do you want to share with the world? What are your hobbies? What do you spend time learning about? Do you play video games? Review them! Do you watch movies? Review them! Literally anything you do you can write about. And the more you start blogging the more the ideas come pouring in. Once you open the floodgates you will have no trouble finding inspiration!

Don't expect to get rich quick.



I have several friends whose accounts are worth anywhere from $20,000 to $80,000. They were less desperate than me and kept their steem power invested. But they have also been blogging for awhile. You aren't going to immediately get money or exposure. You have to build an audience. This can take time but the most important thing is to be consistent. Keep posting regularly. Post good content. Don't let your account get cobwebs!

Don't expect instant money. Don't give up after one or two blogs. Just enjoy the community and continue posting awesome content and try to remember that many of the big earners have been here for a long time. Just focus on yourself and your awesome content and you will be earning some spare cash in no time. Chances are, you spend a lot of time on social media already and earn nothing for it. So, why not give this a shot?

Feel free to share this guide with your hesitant friends, fellow Steemers!

Sort:  

Very well made , I love seeing more cartoon you ^_^

hehe thank you! I love expressing myself via Cartoon Lemons.

Excelent post! really loved it!

Wonderful info. Very easy to follow.

Thank you! Already had one friend sign up for steemit and more interested. :D I figured this would be easier than explaining to each person individually.

Do you mind if I share this out to my FB page?

No, I encourage other steemers to use this guide for recruiting their friends! :D

A very good guide for beginners. Well done. :)

Thank you! :) It has already successfully recruited one friend! So excited to see more of my friends on steemit. ^_^

The more the better, right? :)

Definitely. :D

That was terrific. I don't feel like as much a noob as I did last week, so I can honestly tell you that is what all noobs need to read as an orientation before they can join. :-)

Thank you!! :) I tried to combat a lot of worries people have when joining to get them to just sign up!

steemit is daunting for noobs. I've invested a lot of time and made a concentrated effort for literally one week, essentially full time. I feel like I'm doing fine, but those that don't have much time on their hands will find it difficult if they don't have handy dandy slide shows that you are so capable of. I don't know what the answer is and I'm very happy to be here talking to nice people like yourself.

Honestly, I am still a noob myself in a lot of ways. I mean as far as my knowledge of crypto currency goes. But I know how to blog and get my steem turned into USD and that's all anyone needs to know in the beginning. :) It can be overwhelming. I am only just now starting to to learn more about crypto currency in general.

I am happy to talk to you too! ^_^ I followed you just now.

Much appreciated. I have a good sense of the cryptos yet I failed to profit from them. Kicking myself. Told my wife I was going to put $10k on bitcoin at $.04 and let her talk me out of it. ugh. Glad to start a new adventure with crypto and steemit.

Really well done, LauraLemons!!¡11
Super useful!¡1
Thanks for introducing Me to the Steemit Community!¡11 :)

You're welcome!! :D Hey, get yourself an avatar grey figure! :) I can't wait to see your intro post. I know you'll love it here!

thanks for sharing this.

Great post...

I still don't understand!

Thank you for getting me started! I can't wait to see more of your guides, this one is so very helpful!

awww it;s useful AND adorable!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84