How do I get 20 upvotes on a post yet get no Steem Dollars, No credit at all for anything?

in #howto8 years ago (edited)


(Image created by me)

I have now posted 4 sections of a blog I have been working on. Part 1 got 17 upvotes, part 3 got 20 upvote yet I am getting nothing for the posts. Can anyone please explain to me as to why? I just posted part 4 and would like to know how it is happening so I can fix it. My rep points are not even going up.

Is there something I am doing wrong or perhaps I clicked a feature I should not have or something?

I am asking because I do not understand how this is happening.

Sort:  

You probably got votes from people with low steempower.

Have a read of the following FAQ to see how steemit works:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@thecryptofiend/the-missing-faq-a-beginners-guide-to-using-steemit

You can also see how powerful the votes you get are by looking at your article in steemd.com. Just put steemd in the url instead of steemit. Here is the steemd analysis for this post:

https://steemd.com/howto/@jimcropper/how-do-i-get-20-upvotes-on-a-post-yet-get-no-steem-dollars-no-credit-at-all-for-anything

Click the above link and then click "advanced mode" on the top right. Then scroll down and click "vote details". It should give you a breakdown of who has voted and how powerful they are (the more powerful the more rshares they distribute).

I understand this, but at the same time it makes posting nearly pointless for a Minnow or for other minnows to upvote anything.

It is not entirely pointless. Lots of minnow steempower does add up. Plus if you get lots of votes, however small, you start to rise in the "active" tab again. Same thing applies to comments, as soon as a post gets a comment it rises in the active tab. As lots of whales frequent "active" and do so at different times of the day, it should help you post get noticed and voted on by those with more power.

Nope...I and several others, have gone from zilch to $400 in a month
.
Nothing much happens for a couple of weeks then when critical mass is reached it takes OFF!

How did you do this? Care to share some tips?

how did I do what?
oh...you mean this?

It is based upon the rep points of those who are upvoting your post. If the people upvoting your post do not carry any weight themselves, then it really isn't doing much for you. Unfortunately you need to get followed by a few whales in order to receive much in the way of recognition on this platform; that or be fortunate enough to accumulate a massive following of Steemsters who value your content enough to upvote it when they see it in their news feed. It's also a timing thing as well, with each vote that is cast a percentage of voting power is consumed...so, even if you get a followers with high rep points upvoting your post, if they do so after exhausting a majority of their voting power, then it isn't doing much for you either. It's a tricky system to get a grasp on. Hope this helps a bit!

And the rich get richer...

it takes money to make money.
to make money takes a LOT of hard work.
then when you have made some money
(after, say about five hundred good quality posts)
then make the money work for you.

If you find out, let me know. I have the same problem

I got 17 likes on part 1 and gained $.05 which I thought was kinda low but then I get 20 on part 3 and got nothing. It is like I never even posted it because not even my rep has gone up or anything.

Maybe they were all minnow votes? Since minnow votes are quite small, it is possible to get votes that don't add up enough to make money. If you go into your wallet, you may find you receive. .001 or more ....

That is crazy. #MinnowLivesMatter They really need to do something to fix this. If it is getting more than 10 upvotes, you should be getting something. It almost makes it not worth it to post unless a whale sees it and if that is the case, how do they expect the site to grow at all?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68183.21
ETH 3545.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82