Sick and tired of unwanted phone calls and unsolicited post?

in #howto7 years ago

Ever come home to this? OK maybe not that bad ... but I bet you do.

Junk-Mail.jpg
Image from Google Images

Or disturbed by unsolicited phone calls?

Heard of the TPS & MPS? You should use them ...
link to TPS

Registering on the TPS, and via that site the MPS(menu, lower left of the home page) (Telephone Preference Service and Mail Preference Service respectively) will help.

It takes a good few months to become effective, but it really does work. I get no unsolicited mail at all (meaning mail I didn't ask for, and that isn't directly addressed to me by name - "To the occupier" letters still happen, but are rarer). I also very rarely get unwanted phone calls and telling the caller I'm registered almost always gets an apology and my details removed from the calling company's database.

All UK businesses that issue such things, or make these calls, are obliged to check the TPS & MPS records against theirs and remove any that are on the - effectively - do not disturb list. Not doing so can lead to a large fine, and reporting offenders to the The Information Commissioner's Office is easy.

As I said, I did this - years ago in fact - and I've changed address a fair few times since, but no unwanted mail (I like saving trees) arrives anymore. Nor does it for my mother.

Well worth a look.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @greg-shackleford to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66369.39
ETH 3585.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59