Go Go Gadget Tutorial: Setting your profile pic

in #howto7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit world! I wanted to try my hand at being helpful today. I realized last night that my girlfriend @prettykitten has been on the platform for a couple months now and didn't have a profile pic set. After helping her set it last night, I thought "maybe other new users might need help." So here goes. I'm not always the most articulate, so bear with me here.


Setting your profile pic

The way I understand it, you can use any image found on the internet as yout profile pic (don't break any copyright laws)
First select the "profile dropdown" located in the upper right.


Screenshot_20170510-121905_1_1.jpg


And then select "settings"


Screenshot_20170510-123039_1.jpg


That will bring you here


Screenshot_20170510-123600_1.jpg


Now if you already have/know the url for the image you want, simply type or paste it here, scroll down and select "update"


Screenshot_20170510-124053_1_1.jpg


(The update button will be greyed out and won't let you select it if you have not put in a valid url)
Pretty easy if you already have the photo on the internet. But what about setting a picture you took with your phone or a screenshot that isnt already online?
Well, that's pretty easy, too. Just takes a couple more steps. First you have to upload the photo. Not sure if there is an easier method than this, but it is what I have been using and it works.
The easiest way I have found to upload a new picture is the following. First, click the "submit a story" button. It's the little pen icon just to the left of the "profile dropdown"


Screenshot_20170510-123600_1_1.jpg


That will bring you here


Screenshot_20170510-125423_1.jpg


Under the text box you can select images stored on your device.


Screenshot_20170510-125423_1_1.jpg


This will upload the image directly to Steemit and populate the image url that you need.


Screenshot_20170510-130133_1.jpg


Here is the tricky part. This is the code to include your picture inside of a post. However, you only need the url for setting your profile pic. Which means that you only need the text from the 'https' to the 'jpg'


Screenshot_20170510-130936_1.jpg


Now we're cookin'! Just select the required text (highlighted above) and cut or copy. Go back to the settings page and paste that code into the "Profile Picture URL" box and select update at the bottom. Dut da da DAH!! You have set your profile picture. You can also use this method for adding pictures to your comments on other people's posts.
I hope that this has been helpful.

Please remember to upvote and follow. Also resteem this post so that other new users can find it easier.

If you want a laugh, go check out my meme
https://steemit.com/memes/@gogogadget/ever-stop-and-think

Sort:  

Thanks I just used your Blog to set up my profile pic! Thanks and I added you to my "Following" as well.
@digestingreality

Glad I could help! Hey hey!! My vote is up to 3cents now! Sweet!

Awesome! I think mine is less than a cent because I sometimes see that it will move up by a penny. But not very often so am I probably at .005 or something like that. DR

Good illustrated guide to setting profiles.

Thanks man! Still limited to Steemingit from my phone, so it took me a decent amount of time. Still needs work, but im learning markdown little by little. I learned hyperlinks from papa's post.

It's a learning experience for all of us for sure.

I always fat finger on my phone.. Can't stand the little touch screens.

Yeah, and I have an outdated HTC Desire 626, which badly needs replaced, so there's that.

Jesus man! Hopefully a post of yours takes off so you can get you a laptop!

I hope. That's one reason I asked @papa-pepper to resteem this post.

I did buy most of my steem between .07 cents and .20 cents, my greatest success story in cryptocurrency, but I REALLY don't want to power down. I like my vote being worth two cents.

I have a shitty post here that isn't doing so bad. You might laugh.

Wicked!!! Thanks for your help!!! Now I can put a face to my name ;-)

nice

Thank you. It needs some work, but I think I am getting better.

Woo Hoo!! I add TWO CENTS with my vote now!!

Thanks, your tutorial helped me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 54953.89
ETH 2913.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03