You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Howto Series | #2 — What makes a scientific post stimulating

in #howto6 years ago

hello @kryzsec , good to have another curator dropping by this post ;) thanks for your constructive feedback and I must say, while I agree with many of your points, I need to clarify on one, which is the length of an article. I deliberately omitted that point because I believe some articles require longer explanation and layout while the others might not need a lengthy post to justify their content. I've also come across articles that are lengthy yet badly written, and short ones but concise and succinct. But I understand where you're coming from this stance and I must agree with you on this...

Optimally is between 800-1500 words (my experience) however others might have a differing opinion.

I noticed that the good ones fall in this range. But I didn't wanna to specify and emphasize on the length because I also don't want authors to vomit those words just to make up the length of the content, at the same time neglecting what's most important - the gist.

A rule of thumb is the skirt rule, keep it short enough that it is interesting but long enough to cover all of the interesting details.

True to that. As aforementioned, a short and poorly executed content is a no-go, likewise for the longer form contents. Authors should be focusing in the quality of their gist. Best way is to check whether their key points, explanation and examples will make the readers go 'wow' or 'meh'..

Last but not well, we can all agree that ...

The other curators might have different opinions upon this subject or not, who knows.

You couldn't have said it better :)

Sort:  

I noticed that the good ones fall in this range. But I didn't wanna to specify and emphasize on the length because I also don't want authors to vomit those words just to make up the length of the content, at the same time neglecting what's most important - the gist.

I completely agree that when they just try to find filler then it is just, well its obvious. As well though I find that a lot of posts could add so much more than they do, like they have so much potential and then the word count comes to like 300 ish words and it makes it seem like they didn't try very hard on it.

All in all though, its really awesome that you were open to this discussion, maybe if any of your readers read the comments as well then they can learn something here too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61744.65
ETH 2678.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59