Just Discovered That Youtube Automatically Transcribes Videos - How To Access Youtube Transcripts

in #howto6 years ago

youtube-1158693_640.jpg
Source


I've just discovered a very handy feature that Youtube offers on most videos. Through its auto-translate feature, which adds subtitles to most videos, it also provides you with a transcription file that you can access without watching the video.

This feature came in handy after I'd watched the "Steem(it) Townhall with @ned, hosted by @aggroed and @llfarms" stream on Youtube. The day after I had watched this stream, I wanted to search for something that was said, but as you all know, it's quite irritating to look for specific parts of conversations in videos like these.

So what I did was, instead of looking through the video, I opened the transcript and searched it via "CTRL+F" using keywords that I remembered. Since the transcription is accompanied by correct time-stamps, I could easily find the correct point in the video.


Where to find the transcript?

On videos that have automatic captions enabled, you can find the transcript by clicking on the three dots next to the "save" button, which is located under the video player. There you can click on "Open Transcript", which will open the video's transcript next to the video.

As you can see, the transcript contains time-stamps and is generally somewhat accurate. I was quite surprised with the quality for this particular video, as it contained quite a few technical terms.

Okay, Steem was transcribed as Steam, which isn't too bad, but notice that it even recognizes words as "blockchain" and "decentralization", I'd say that's pretty impressive!


I can think of quite a few use-cases for this feature:

  • Easily find specific points in video's with keywords that you remember
  • Use the transcripts to correctly and easily quote people. The transcripts are sometimes good enough that you can just copy/paste and do minimal amounts of editing.
  • In case you cross-post your own Dtube videos on Youtube, you can use these transcripts for writing your post (note that editing is required). It's great for SEO, just go ask @jerrybanfield (if he was still around).

If you've learned something new because of this post, consider giving me an upvote or resteem!

Sort:  

This is really cool. I don't tend to spend a ton of time on Youtube like some people do. I am not sure why, I just don't see how people can get immersed in it for hours at a time. I'm not saying you do that either :) just rambling I guess. This is a really cool feature because I do sometimes find myself looking for specific parts of a video.

Damn that's the best research that you did (:
Appreciated bro (:
thanks for sharing (;

That’s very clever of you
Knew of the transcribe but never used it
Oooooh
Thanks for sharing 😊

I actually transcribed a whole YouTube video of more than an hour a few days ago. I didn't set out to do it - I just found the info in the video so compelling that I decided to copy it to get the facts straight. As I copied more and more, I started thinking, "I'm sure there must be a way to get an automatic transcript for this..."
Now I know! thanks for the info.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Daan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @daan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.974 which ranks you at #3794 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 81 places in the last three days (old rank 3875).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 210 contributions, your post is ranked at #73.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 377 (01/21/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57475.27
ETH 2375.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34