How to be a Bachelor, Principles : Consistent methods produce consistent results

in #howto7 years ago

OK, maybe not every time, but on average. It builds up over time.


This part of the How to be a Bachelor series points out the principles that I mention in my other posts. They are for reference and will build up the background for my other posts

Depending on how you are doing, there are from dozens to hundreds of things you could be doing better. I'm in the range of hundreds.

And that's an improvement.


I have a tendency to put off mailing things that need to be mailed. Why the heck doesn't everyone do everything by email? So I started putting the mail in the crack of the front door. I can't leave the apartment without doing something about the mail. As long as I consistently put the mail in the door, I will consistently bring it down to the mailbox.

I alway hang my keys up by the door. My last roommate never did that. She was always asking me to help her look for her keys. At some point I consistently refused to do so. Within a week she started hanging her keys by the door. Everytime she hung her keys by the door she was able to find her keys. Amazing!

No need to get OCD about it (refer to the 80% rule), and I am not saying you need to hang your keys by the door (refer to THIS) but in whatever you are wishing you did a better job about, find a simple trick (ask me if you want help) that will nearly force you into doing it consistently. I recently solved some of my poor sleeping issues by setting an early alarm and getting up at the same time every day until I started getting sleepy at a reasonable time at night. I'm writing these posts every day and I think they are starting to improve. As far as I can tell, everything but sex improves by making it consistent and predictable.


All images from pixabay or my camera unless otherwise noted.
Please try my Future History stories - Enmity

Sort:  

Love this! I'm married but this is great!!

Thanks! I hope the principles section is more widely helpful, but the other sections will be mostly geared to young adults going out on their own with insufficient training in how to run a house and their lives.

Any input and corrections appreciated.

I am a 40 something adult with a wife and family and I could always do with advice! You are never too old to learn!

This is so simple, yet it solves SO many problems. Thanks for the reminder! I already apply this “technique” to my keys but I know I could benefit from using it in other areas of my life too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53