You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: With Great Power, Comes Great Responsability

in #howivote8 years ago

I'm all for, "If you like a post," up-vote it.
I will only down-vote Scamming or begging posts.
Leave the down voting because of big pay-outs to the Fraggles.
(And if you don't know what I mean by Fraggle, Google Fraggle Rock)

Sort:  

I do understand where you're coming from and really can't disagree. I'm still going to upvote things I like, just gonna make more use of my slider bar now.

I also understand on the downvoting...outside abuse...this is an extreme rarity to be used. Many of these are instances in my eyes, caused by automatic voting bots. If I see a bunch of views, it'd never cross my mind.

But I also don't want to be afraid to be using it when I do feel it's one of those cases. I believe that the stigma of it being a 'flag' prevents the community from monitoring certain things themselves. If I had a bunch of voting bots bring one of my 'lazy' posts way up, I'd rather expect others to bring it down a peg. When the bots get smarter, then those situations ideally won't occur.

The biggest change for me is the big focus to just not vote for things before reading them. I've been spreading my votes too liberally in the past when they gave nothing or very little. Now I'd just rather be more refined in what I vote on (which probably won't change much) and how much vote % is applied. This in the end means I'll be voting less, since I'll be spending more time on the posts I do, trying to comment on most of them.

I fully expect each user will find their own method...it by no means has to match mine.

And I do fully know what a Fraggle is. Dozers too :P

I won the whale vote contest - watch out! Good things coming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61098.42
ETH 2470.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64