[How-To] Do anything and everything - Everything you ever wanted to know How-To is only a question away!

in #how-to8 years ago

So I joined Steemit.com about a month ago under the name @venuspcs which will remain my main account. However, after becoming active in Slack chat and then Steemit.Chat I realized there are a whole lot of questions my fellow Steemians are searching for answers to. Which is why I decided to create this account "The How-To Guy".

If there is anything you want to know How-To then just ask in the comments below and if I can figure it out I will make a tutorial (How-To) about it. As an added bonus any tutorials I make (suggested by a fellow Steemian) I will split the SD (SBD) with that person 50%-50% and give them credit in the tutorial (How-To) post as well.

If there is any questions about whether or not I am in fact @venuspcs just look in the comments below. As soon as I post this I will switch accounts and verify that I @venuspcs am in fact also @the-how-to-guy.

Now for an example of the kinds of How-To's I will make for my fellow Steemians upon request here is one I recently did to address all the questions about FOLLOWing people on Steemit.


Okay this is a common complaint I see a dozen times a day in chat. So I decided to write this tutorial to help my fellow Steemians out.

Step One:

img

Whenever you see a post or comment from someone you want to follow simply place your mouse over their name (or click if necessary) and it will pop up a screen like the one above. Now just click on FOLLOW.

Step Two:

Head on over to Steemstats.com and add yourself to the list on the top left so it looks like so:

img2

Now that you are following yourself on steemstats if you click on

img3

You should see something like this:

img4

or rather like this:

img5

Now if you pay attention to this page, book mark it etc. it will show every Post/Comment/Vote by anyone you are following. You can also click on:

img6

To enable Desktop or Browser notifications so you don't even have to be watching this tab in your browser.

I hope this helps out my fellow Steemians but all credit for Steemstats.com goes to @jesta.

I expect everyone that reads this far to FOLLOW me by clicking my name below and then clicking FOLLOW....HINT HINT!

Sort:  

This is me @the-how-to-guy

Finally some useful info. Thxs a lot. I'm a newbie here and still have to get a handle on steem. I was wondering, what the hell did I do to get a reputation of -5. So away, I didn't know about the existence of steemstats so I went to check it out. And browsing through the pages, there's a list of upvotes and down votes . I got 60 upvotes weighted 10000, and 9 downvotes weighted 10000. Why the hell is my reputation negative. Does 60-9=51 still today (or are we in 1984?) Evendently, a downvote of weight 10000 weighs more tha an upvote of equal weight (which still reminds me of Orwell).
Sure, some of my posts ironic, sarcastic, contraversial or just a plain joke.
But I glad I made somebody have a laugh "does anybody remember laugher" (Led Zeppelin - Stairway to Heaven live- from the Song Remains the Same).
And I made some people think. And with thinking comes creativity (DUH).

And I last thing to finish because I tried of ranting:

My post has a Fresh-Koolaid grade level of a "somebody really ticked-off" and ironic tease of "Holy (blank) Batman". This puts the ranting level on par with Groucho Marx and Monty Python.

I am a noob here and less that savy, but creative and EAGER to post stuff. Which i cannot yet do because the post button is not Blue like it is here below....Is there a trick to it that i should know? It cannot be that complicated.....probably something i am missing, but i'm not proud... Help?! and thank you...... : )

When you "Submit a Story" make sure in the tag field you only use 5 tags, all lower case with no numbers or characters in the field. Then the Post button should turn blue!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60807.32
ETH 3349.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48