A desk I'm working on, Staining part 1

in #how-to6 years ago

Ok so I decided to make a desk so I could have some "me" space.

I wasn't sure how to make it or what exactly I was going to do, but did know that I've developed a taste for meshing wood and metal.
So I got on Pinterest.

And found this generally I liked it but knew I'd have to adapt it for my own use as well as my skill level in building it.

https://www.target.com/p/sequoia-natural-live-edge-writing-desk-brown-treasure-trove/-/A-52614666desk.jpg

While nice and all the outboard legs would have been a problem for me keeping them even and square as I welded them, so I went with another approach.
But I'll cover that more in the build welding post.

This post is just for the finish job.

I decided I wan't to layer effects.
Even made some coffee stain as I posted in dTube yesterday.

desk five.jpg

Sorry about the production quality I'm still learning.

Anyway the end plan is to cover up some of the areas that I don't want the stain to pennetrate with paste wax in a semi random pattern. I thought it would be cool to try and tiger stripe it.

desk four.jpg

Thought I'd just smear it on thick and see how that goes.

desk three.jpg

Applying the stain, would have been better with an actual squeegee instead of a straight edge.

![desk two.jpg]

()

Here's the results so far, bear in mind I need to let it set and wipe off the excess.

desk one.jpg

I will post the post clean off results in the comments.
Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

desk stained.jpg

What I have so far. It'll be getting some metallic pin striping too.

What it looks like so far. Planing on metallic stripes as well.

desk stained.jpg

The lag is attrocious!!!!!

@woodworkcurators is a daily curation service for the woodworking community.

woodlogo2.png

You can read about us here

WIn SBD in our Weekly Woodworking post Competition

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33