Houses of the future - Binishells - Would you buy one?

in #housing8 years ago

Hey everyone,

I've been looking over these designs for a while now and each time I do, I like them even more. The housing designs I'm talking about are the one where you inflate a bladder, stretch re-bar over the bladder to get your form, and then pour concrete and wait for it to dry. The end result can be any type of shape you want, you can even have it set up so that your entire roof becomes grass or the forest floor :D

I don't think I'd get one for the town I live in, but they would be nice for a fishing cabin or lake house :)

They're suppose to be eco-friendly, affordable (about half the price of a normal home of it's size), and much cheaper to heat and cool.

Here are a few images of houses I'm talking about:

Basic Housing



More advanced housing or corporate buildings

Front:

Back:



Resort Style:

Sort:  

Hobbit hous

exactly lol :D

If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.

Wikipedia says that it was invented in 1960.

I don't see why this construction method makes house "much cheaper to heat and cool". I'd say on contrary, if you have thin walls it will be much more expensive to heat & cool, unless you add good insulation. But then again, why can't you add insulation to a normal house? Sounds like bs.

But looks cool, that's true!

yeah, I was trying to figure out whey it would be cheaper to heat and cool. Maybe they were trying to say it holds the cold and heat better? Not sure lol.

I don't think the walls would be that thin, they'd have to be at least 12 inches wide or more in order to hold up the structure. But I'm no structural engineer so what the hell do I know :(

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 14.6 and reading ease of 66%. This puts the writing level on par with academic journals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60526.03
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54