Horrible Art - "The Never-ending War between Satan and God"

in #horribleart7 years ago (edited)

The never-ending battle between god and satan.jpg


As I related in a previous post, I am participating in Horrible Art Monday on what I believe is a Saturday because genius abides no man's schedule. Upon viewing my own creation, Tzawhatnayah-ah-ah...ahhhhh, my offspring felt moved by her Muse to bring forth in a labor of ardency, a piece of Horrible Art of her own: The never-ending war between Satan and God.

Casting my eyes upon this eloquent deconstruction of the "meme" I found myself moved nearly to tears. Her obvious grasp of the vulgar vicissitudes of modern youth and their attendant annihilation of all true meaning was so profound I find myself bowing to her superior talent.

The momentous juxtaposition of misanthropic YouTube celebrity "iDubbbz" with the hand of God as he vanquishes "doge" with a child's toy water pistol loaded with holy water, pointedly declaims the failure of the proletariat to evolve beyond ancient superstitions, choosing instead to elevate new gods alongside the old and dust-bound​ totems they should long ago have left behind.

Her clever employ of "neon" colors, so vibrant as to cause one to turn away in horror, is a powerful metaphor for the over-saturation of society with cheap "entertainment" that doesn't even require black-tie to view. How the more refined sensibilities of the truly gifted must shrink from the "meme," from the "YouTuber," from the dreaded "Vlogger!"

I confess I am overcome with sentiment toward my progeny, who, rather than adding to the worthless wastes and rabid consumers of the planet, shows already that she will be one of the few lights of reason and eloquence in this benighted era. It has been my tepid pleasure to share her glory with you.

You're welcome.

IMG_9926.jpg

Here, the artiste herself shares her "skeptical" face


Hey, satire and art aren't my usual thing. So if you want to see an at least nominally better post of mine, please check out my latest fiction, Known.

Many thanks to @erodedthoughts for this terrific idea. Check out his blog!

And if you are a writer who would like to hone your craft, swing by the Writers' Block and say, "Hello!" We have workshops for every conceivable style of stringing words together, and a great community we'd love you to be a part of.



Thanks so much for reading! If you enjoyed this, please kindly upvote, follow, and resteem!







Sort:  

Winner winner chicken dinner!
Screenshot-2017-12-11 Horrible Art - The Never-ending War between Satan and God — Steemit.png

Oh wow! She is ecstatic! And BTW thanks to your encouraging contest and comments, she signed up today for her own account :D

That's awesome! May the gods be with her and bless her!

It would be awesome to retire before her first hire!

As I saw the contest rules, you really embody it to the [put a letter here, because I'm too lazy to do so].... I would never thought this art had all this meaning behind it... you're the master of deceiv-- I mean describing!!

Lol! Thank you so much for leaving a comment. Lily has been dying to get one on her creation :)

Get her an account of her own, don't worry she won't steal all of your spotlight!

Lol! I tried to talk her into doing that but she's ten and afraid she won't do well. I'm kind of hoping this "baby step" will help her feel more confident. She's actually quite creative :)

They younger they start making crypto pennies the sooner they can live their dreams.

Tell me about it! Hey, thank you again for such an awesome idea. I usually write stories or humorous "how to" kinds of things. This was truly the most fun I've had doing a post in ages and Lily had a blast as well. I'm following so I don't miss the next one ;)

I am glad you like it, I wasn't sure how it was going to go but have gotten a great response from everyone who has entered and I am loving watching the entries evolve each week as well.

I'm going to post it in the Contests channel at the Writers' Block. I hope we get some more participants for your next one!

That would be awesome! Thank you.

Your comment had Lily cracking up, lol, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41