🍅Growing Tomatoes Without Water Update🍅

in #homsteading6 years ago

This fruit, the tomato, should be the forbidden fruit!

20180907_145254.jpg

I just really really love me some tomatoes... I know, I've said it before... no need to remind me, but I do love a fresh tomato and now I have my own, growing right in the garden!!!

Steem line 2.png

As some of you may know already, I have two different tomato plots... one is a test plot, growing without water, fertilizers or staking which is a technique developed by Pascal Poot where tomatoes are trained to live their lives without human support.

20180907_144228.jpg

Not too bad, out of five plants four remain!

True, it has been raining quite a lot this summer in the Hudson Valley, but that is the only water these tomatoes have recieved. No fertilizer has been used and there will be no staking them up either. So far two tomatoes have come out!!! Yeah we can harvest the seeds for next year's hardier crop!

Out the four plants, one looks to be on its way out. It's turning yellow, the tomato is a little past its prime. It's so hard to keep myself from watering it or to try and save it, but I know better, after all this is a search for strong survival genes in the DNA. That being said, if it doesn't survive, should I save the seeds anyway?

The more traditional plot:

20180907_144129.jpg

The beefsteaks are really coming up fast now!

20180907_144159.jpg

These green ones are delicious Green Zebras


I need to take this opportunity to apologize to you for a past tomato update. I called these Green Zebras, green tigers!!! I am only human and I make mistakes, sorry for the confusion 😉.


Within this plot (which is also planted right in the soil and waterd less than traditionally) I decided to train a couple plants to survive without stakes too.

20180907_144105.jpg

This little red tomato was the most delicious one of the bunch... and I forgot to save any the seeds!!!

Thankfully there were a few tomatoes in the bunch which had partially over ripened. I cut those pieces off and saved the seeds!

20180909_074653.jpg

Here they go...fermenting in their own juices with a little water for a few day

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

Steem line 2.png

The @EcoTrain has made me very happy and proud to be a part of it, have a look at what other passengers have been writing

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

QUOTE OF THE MONTH: @RiverFlows
When someone believes in you, you're far more likely to rise up the best version of you that you can be.

(If you want a quote of yours posted here for a month please let me know)

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

And don't forget… #DreamsComeTrue!

Sort:  

Survival of the fittest. Or I guess propagation of the fittest haha. Let the seeds of the plant that didn't make it go. I vote them off the island.

Hhaaha, excellent Steven Patrick!!! Voted off the island that poor little fella... had I known, I would have picked it and ate it. Letting it go unless someone sways my decision again. Thanks for your input, I like this Propagation of the Fittest thing. Nice

Beautiful tomato garden my friend.

Thank you so much Fatima 😁

They look good to me

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @senorcoconut! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @senorcoconut! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57030.30
ETH 2858.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62