You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Food forest floor - how we got started

in #homsteading6 years ago

Sweet! You've read my mind perfectly!

I'm still at the part of the process where I watch and learn my land, but I've been wondering about how to start my forest. I'm told it's straw cutting season, and there are a lot of farmers around me that produce it at a pretty low cost.

Waiting til fall makes a lot of sense, but I think I'm gonna go ahead and pick up a couple bales and put out an ad for wood chippers to dump on my property, that way I'll have material when fall arrives. Til then, I guess I'll mow lol

What are y'all hoping to plant there?

Sort:  

Haha thats awesome ! I hope my next post is just as helpful :D

Everything - is the short answer. The longer one - not entierly sure yet. We need the leaves on the trees to grow in before we can decide what goes where, but the idea is to plant in layers. We want a lot of beets for example, so thats the root layer (they are soo tasty to juice and beet salad is a thing for swedish xmas), squash will be our ground cover, as well as basil and other herbs and they are companion plants for tomatoes. But I will make a post about all of this as we kind of figure it out ourselves :D

Don't forget clover and marigolds :) clover for mulch and fertilizer and marigolds to deter pests.

Marigolds we will have for sure but since its not our land we wont use clover. Once you have it, you´ll always have it and I dont know its something our landlords would like. And the farmer who has the canola field next to our forest would be sad if he got clover all over his field, im pretty sure hehe

Lol I love clover. So rich and green and it's short enough to not need mowed! When I found out it's a good thing for soil, I was super happy.

yeah me too! But it seems like traditional garderners usually do everything to get it out of their lawn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66492.65
ETH 3309.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72