Food forest floor - how we got started

in #homsteading6 years ago

IMG_20180425_1405327-panorama.jpg

Spring did finally arrive here too. The snow melted in no time and thats partly why I havent posted anything in a while. Well, doing a bit much kind of made my chronic pain real bad too.
If you have a look at my husbands post https://steemit.com/asparagus/@brockolopolis/utilizing-the-gifts-the-land-already-has-for-us-this-time-asparagus you can see what the food forest looked like when we started.
This post has pictures of how it looked next https://steemit.com/permaculture/@brockolopolis/a-little-chop-chop-in-the-food-forest

And the picture at the top of this post is a panorama of what it looks like right now. We noticed that the tall gras already had started peeking through the layer of leaves and dead grass from last year so we figured since we dont need the straw bales to protect the ceptic tank lid from freezing any more - we could go ahead and use those. The idea is to suffocate the tall gras. This is just the first layer, on top of the straw we will put a good 6" layer of wood chips.

The floor of the forest - where it starts

Nature is our best teacher and if you ever had a look at the ground in a forest you might have noticed that the leaves, branches and any organic matter is decomposing. All the nutrients that once was drawn out of the soil as the trees and plants grew is added back in to the soil as the organic matter decomposes. This is the fundamental cycle we want to mimic when building a food forest. This is what is going to make it selfsustaining. It will create its own soil and nutrients are being put back into the ground.

A lot of the guides I´ve read about how to start a food forest stated that you should first add either cardboard boxes or painters paper (depending on what you are building your food forest on). This will work as a shield to suffocate anything underneath. Then compost should be added on top, a couple of inches thick. And lastly wood chips - atleast 6" thick. All of this should be done in the fall so that it can decompose over winter and give you some soil to put the plants in the following spring.

IMG_20180425_1410540.jpg

We didnt know about food forests until the snow was already on the ground last year so thats why we are kind of improvising a bit. The straw we added have been outside in the rain and snow all year so it have started decomposing. One of the bales was quite warm inside, one sure sign things are happening - it creates heat. It will decompose fast and add to the layer of soil already in place. Its also not too expensive since we got quite the area to cover. (this is one of the reasons we split the food forest up into 3 stages, its a very large area). On top we will add wood chips. We will plant some food plants throughout this area but our main focus this year was to get the tree branches cleared out and the ground covered to get rid of the tall gras. So that we next year have good quality soil to plant in.

layout garden.jpg

So the pictures are of nr 2. We measured the garden the other day and its 90 feet long and 42 feet wide. So the food forest is a bit longer than those 90 feet but not as wide, perhaps 25 feet.

Yeah, so thats what we done so far. We have a bunch more straw bales coming in. We will rake the soil in the garden in to beds, add wood chips in the pathways and use some of the straw as mulch for the plants there. But the main part of the straw will be used as a first layer in our food forest.

Sort:  

An informative post. Look forward to seeing how it develops 💙

Sweet! You've read my mind perfectly!

I'm still at the part of the process where I watch and learn my land, but I've been wondering about how to start my forest. I'm told it's straw cutting season, and there are a lot of farmers around me that produce it at a pretty low cost.

Waiting til fall makes a lot of sense, but I think I'm gonna go ahead and pick up a couple bales and put out an ad for wood chippers to dump on my property, that way I'll have material when fall arrives. Til then, I guess I'll mow lol

What are y'all hoping to plant there?

Haha thats awesome ! I hope my next post is just as helpful :D

Everything - is the short answer. The longer one - not entierly sure yet. We need the leaves on the trees to grow in before we can decide what goes where, but the idea is to plant in layers. We want a lot of beets for example, so thats the root layer (they are soo tasty to juice and beet salad is a thing for swedish xmas), squash will be our ground cover, as well as basil and other herbs and they are companion plants for tomatoes. But I will make a post about all of this as we kind of figure it out ourselves :D

Don't forget clover and marigolds :) clover for mulch and fertilizer and marigolds to deter pests.

Marigolds we will have for sure but since its not our land we wont use clover. Once you have it, you´ll always have it and I dont know its something our landlords would like. And the farmer who has the canola field next to our forest would be sad if he got clover all over his field, im pretty sure hehe

Lol I love clover. So rich and green and it's short enough to not need mowed! When I found out it's a good thing for soil, I was super happy.

yeah me too! But it seems like traditional garderners usually do everything to get it out of their lawn

sounds like an amazing project @elfmyselfandi. Sorry to hear about the pain you're feeling but i'm sure it will be worth it once your food forest is flourishing. I wish you lots of luck and hope you're feeling better soon!

I´m so very excited about this project - its been on my mind since last fall. Thank you for the well wishes, and I agree, I love being outdoors and this spot in the food forest garden is already my favourite. I sat there and sketched for an hour yesterday, I would have stayed longer but we had dinner plans with ppl.

I will upvote and resteem your last blog post free to my 35,000+ followers if you reply with the word, "free".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70