Plastic Free/Zero Waste Challenge - This Week is Going to be... Interesting

If you’ve been following along with my articles, you’ve seen the multitude of posts that explore the zero waste lifestyle. Zero waste is a way of life where an individual strives to produce no waste (ie. send nothing to a landfill). Many people call this living plastic free since single use plastic items are one of the biggest culprits! I’ve posted many Product Spotlights featuring sustainable product alternatives and also reviews of the Zero Waste information on Lauren Singer’s blog, Trash is for Tossers… and over the course of my research, I stumbled across a really cool idea.

The Plastic Free/Zero Waste Challenge!

This challenge forces an individual to live the ultimate plastic free lifestyle for a limited period of time.

Usually people who are interested in incorporating zero waste lifestyle choices/habits do so gradually. It’s near impossible to change your entire life and ingrained habits overnight! So people begin with making smarter purchases, using cloth bags, choosing a reusable water bottle over plastic, etc…

But this challenge goes from 0 to 100 real quick. For a limited period of time (a day, a week, a month), you are not allowed to use plastic or throw anything away. You can compost and you can still recycle (glass, aluminum, etc), but the goal is to eliminate the need for a trash can.

The point of this challenge is to raise awareness and open your eyes - you will be able to see how much plastic you use and how much waste you produce daily. Then, at the end of the challenge, you will have a greater understanding of areas in your life that you can/need/ or want to change.

This challenge will help me really kickstart my zero waste lifestyle and redefine my goals. I shouldn’t just sit and research more sustainable choices… I should take action!

So I’ve decided I’m going to give this challenge a try for the next week - starting Sunday September 10th and ending Sunday September 17th! At the end of each day I will post an update on my progress!

Wish me luck!

Would you like to join the challenge?! Let’s give it a try together! Comment below if interested!


Photography from Pexels and used under the CC0 license.


Join the SteemitHomesteaders.Slack community today!


Proud passenger of the Steemit EcoTrain!

Click here to see what’s trending on the EcoTrain!

Sort:  

Is it allowed to buy e.g. grains in a supermarket that come in plastic, transfer it in your non plastic bag and leave the plastic at the supermarket?
If not, superhard impossible challenge :-). Wishing you strength to succeed, much love

It is allowed to buy things in bulk that come in plastic and put it in a non-plastic bag! Zero Waste is near impossible when considering the plastic that everyone else produces so the challenge is simply to eliminate personal waste! Thank you for the well wishes!

Haha, this sounds familiar! My husband and I moved to an unincorporated township where there is no garbage service, and where we are responsible for EVERY bit of garbage we produce. We've been aiming for a plastic-free lifestyle for a long time, now, and while we've got a good system going now, it certainly takes some practice! Totally worth it in the end. High five!

It’s awesome that you’re doing this, dear! I support you whole-heartedly on this challenge. I will be following your progress with interest, so please keep us posted! ;)

Thanks! I have a feeling it's going to be much more difficult than I can imagine at this point but I'll try my best! Tomorrow evening I will post my first update - it's early afternoon right now where I am!

This looks like it will be a tough one.

I try to live an ecologically sound life as much as possible, and I do look out for options to reduce plastic. But to eliminate it altogether even for a week will be mighty challenging I think.

Looking forward to your daily update. Good luck!

yup!.. i commented that the best way is to make artwork out of some of it.. or use it to make other things.. e.g you can stuff LOADS of plastic into plastic bottles and then use them with cob to make outdoor furniture.. With some imagination i think it can be possible.. but it is a lifestyle and takes time!!

Thank you! I'm expecting it to be extremely difficult as well haha!

Nice! I'm looking forward to hearing about the details: things that worked well, and things that remained, even after trying so hard. I think the whole point of going 100% for a while is to see all that's possible and once the challenge is over adopt the best practices.

wow, what a challenge you set yourself! Very inspiring and i really look forward to seeing how you do.. im sure you will have some stories to tell..

I think some self challenges might make it more fun .. for example finding ways to reuse and make things from what waste you do make and cant dispose of.. Artwork !!! time to get creative! ;-)

I have a love-hate relationship with zero waste. We practise a lot of the things it preaches, but as so many other initiatives, a lot of people take it too far and become legalistic. I also think a lot of people are blind to the plastic etc. that is produced up stream. On the other hand, it is movements like this that get people interested who otherwise wouldn't be and that's worth a gold medal for sure.
I will jump straight in and read the posts you already have up and I hope you gain some great insights from your challenge.

Other than reducing plastic use a little each year, I have not come even close to my goals. Good luck!

hay this is very good post thanks for sharing with us, i will take part in it. A useful message to all contestant by me. if you like than up vote.
images (1).png

Great initiative. I will join the challenge, it will be very interesting. At the end of the challenge I will post about it. Thanks.

Awesome! I look forward to hearing how it goes for you! Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60731.80
ETH 2630.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62