Mullein Was Questionable, But Now It's A DefinitesteemCreated with Sketch.

Still Planning The 2018 Herb Garden

Researching Mullein

common-mullein1-400x600.jpg

Image Credit/Source

I have been waffling about adding too many new herbs and plants to next year's garden so I have been very carefully making sure each addition has some medicinal reason for being there.

I am looking mainly for herbs and plants with anti-inflammatory and anxiety reducing side effects. Hence why I have chamomile, catnip, lemon balm and others. Sure some plants and herbs have beautiful flowers and blooms, but I want to make sure I grow plants with more than an aesthetic purpose.

I came across an article in my husband's local hunting and outdoors' magazine this weekend that provoked more thought into planting (or finding an established plant growing wild) mullein.
44.jpg

The article was full of great history of the plant, its uses and where to find it locally.
43.jpg

After reading the article twice, I was convinced and needed no more prodding. Mullein was being added to my drawing/sketch of the 2018 herb garden.

border.png

Adding Mullein To My Herb Garden

I still have some 'wiggle' room to add this to my herb garden, as when I had been planning next year's garden, greenhouse set up and seed growing strategy, I left a few 'slots' open to adding more as I come across herbs for beneficial and medicinal uses.

So having mullein added to the garden should be a breeze.

border.png

How To Use Mullein From Dr. Axe Website

In my renewed research, I came across this website and it offered up a great chart with information; which I will be adding to my gardening and herb journals for future referencing.

Mullein-Graphic.jpg

Image Credit/Source

border.png

Everyone have a great Sunday and enjoy!

SIGNATURE.jpgDQmWrXCPVGRFqdbXTXFjsQfhDXZys1FT3dWoX8LdXyK4XYv_1680x8400.pngDQmYXXHDrDwhEdyGeY3dmTFcG8swHjuLQeWMii6nJEZhGTB_1680x8400.png

Badges by @daddykirbs

Come join the homestead slack community and have fun chatting with us- click picture below.
DQmTa57Whsb55DXfodWEvxENX4NUzyU7kqqvnx9Fuf95D1H_1680x8400.jpg
DQmUAPFKc4m1ZSxdLLAwPuvaYsKDVEMNmjbqN3huRfBsGSk_1680x8400.jpg
Badge created by @allforthegood

Sort:  

Mullein is an absolute must for your garden. Haha, great minds think alike. I have been working on a mullein article for some time now. I am making an oil emulsion from the flowers and waiting for it to be done.

Oil emulsion? Now I'm intrigued!
Emulsions, flavored oils and tinctures are on my "to learn" list

It's so easy, it's ridiculous. At least this one is. I take the flowers, most are gone now. Let them wilt for a few hours first to help evaporate moisture out of them, then just place in a jar with olive oil and sit in a sunny windowsill. Give a gentle shake once a day for a few weeks and strain. The stuff is the absolute best for earaches and boo boos.

Oh wow!!! So simple!
Thanks for sharing

Excellent piece. Funnily enough, earlier in the year I spotted an unusual plant on my farmland. Have NEVER seen it before but it was near the cow manure pile so I wonder whether the tenant farmer's cattle brought it in. Anyway, it was mullein!

I'm going to grow it on because it's pretty and a native. But I didn't realise it could be used to help ease bursitis - one issue I suffer with. How interesting.

I am amazed at how little I really knew about nature around me. It wasn't until this past summer that I really took time to notice and understand

We have this growing wild on our land, so I've been collecting leaves and flowers to use as medicine. (never used it before!) Apparently, the leaves can be used as a bandage, and the flowers are supposed to be especially good for earaches...it just takes a LOOOONG time to get enough! I need a quarter cup to make a tincture, and right now, I'm at...probably a teaspoon of dried flowers, haha. I spread more seeds around the areas where I found the wild plants...hoping for more in the spring!

That's my plan in the coming weeks, to try and find a wild plant in this area. We have lots of wetlands plus we have the creek that runs behind our house on the property line.

In my area, Mullein seems to favor dry waste areas...not sure if wetland creeks will be a successful hunt. HOWEVER, you should also keep a lookout for Swamp Rose Mallow--also hugely useful, and a lover of wet places! https://altnature.com/gallery/mallows.htm

Have you ever checked out Rosemary Gladstar's Medicinal Herbs for Beginners? It has been a great introduction for me on some useful (and safe!) medicinal herbs, and its still one of my favorites. ( http://amzn.to/2xPiBXK )

Thanks for the book recommendation!! Definitely going to check with my library for this one.

Just got the book from my library- they actually had one on the shelves. Super excited to check it out later today

Nice! I do enjoy it, for the most part. It's very accessible--though Gladstar definitely sometimes wends far too "magical" for my tastes, she keeps it in check for her beginner's guide. It's the only book of hers I would wholeheartedly recommend. But it is the first book I reach for when it comes to learning herbal medicine! I just made my first tinctures this week...it's exciting!

I have always wanted to try a friction fire with one of those. I have never seen one around these parts though.

In the article the author mentions making a torch, but flame went out in few seconds. He dipped in some melted wax and it stayed lit for quite some time. Maybe trying tree sap would work in a survival scenario

Nice write up. I'm wondering if mullein would be good rabbit fodder due it's anti-bacterial properties?

Not sure, I do know by reading the article in the magazine that, in this state (Michigan) it is illegal to use mullein seeds for fishing. I know, right?!
I guess the dried seeds have some kind of toxin that fish are susceptible to and they will die. So be careful when it comes to the rabbits. The chemical is called Saponins. I'd recommend checking it out

Wow, thank you for that. Very good to know!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

@cryptohustlin has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Thanks for sharing! We love this special herb that definitely grows as a weed around here (loving spoor spoil). We save mullein every year and use it periodically through the year, especially during winter. It is a staple in my elderberry syrup!

OH wow! That is really interesting!
I've been learning about the medicinal uses of it, never considered the 'cooking' aspects!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63122.96
ETH 2686.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57