Red On The Homestead: A Symbol of Joy, Life, Energy, & Creativity.

in #homesteadphotography6 years ago (edited)

I loved @knowledge-seeker's challenge this week for: Red Around The Homestead. As I looked around for this challenge I realized that there is red everywhere. Every room and most buildings have a splash of red on them. I really love colorful things but it would seem that most of all I gravitate to the color red. I wonder if there is a signifigant meaning in this?

A quick on-line search told me that red is very significant in many cultures.

In Chinese culture red was associated with fire, south, and summer and to the Hindu, red symbolizes joy, life, energy, and creativity. The source link offers many, many other traditional uses and beliefs about the color red. source

Red Around The Homestead

IMG_7312.JPG Garden fresh strawberries - red that you can taste!

IMG_6126.jpg and wild strawberries too! they are scattered everywhere. The birds gobble these up greedily.

IMG_6122.jpg A lone red flower (I forget what they are called). We planted these from seed three years ago and they've finally appeared. My Husbands great-grandmother grew these as well.

IMG_6123.jpg The read heart shaped rock.

IMG_6125.jpg Red birdhouse in a sea of green.

IMG_6059.JPG This is a simple cucumber beetle trap idea that I learned about from an organic grower. A red cup with sticky spray on it. So far ... it isn't working.

IMG_6124.jpg
The battered garage/workshop door all spiffed up in red. It's amazing what a coat of paint can do.

IMG_6134.jpgThe Old Reliable-ish Massey Ferguson Tractor. I have no idea how to operate it but this year I've been promised lessons. Our truck and push mower are also red.

IMG_5784.JPGMy trusty red tea kettle with loud whistle for the easily distracted! This simple red kettle has been boiling our water for years and years. It's been across Canada! :)


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca | Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

Sort:  

@walkerland could you swing by Discord when you have a moment. Left you a message there

What a neat idea to look up the significance of the color! I really like the tea kettle, and that bird house! It looks like something out of a fairy tale with that steep roof and perched up on that tall crooked stump!

Thank you @mtnmeadowmomma! It was super easy to make. I have a habit of collecting sticks and logs when we go wandering in the woods. I always come back with something neat. Sort of like my son and his rocks. :)

The flower is Sweet William....

Loved the snippets of red on your place!

Thank you! I am so forgetful with names. :)

Love your red birdhouse! Nice selections of photos. Very creative :)

I love the way you compose your photos. Very appealing to the eyes.

Thanks so much @thelaundrylady, you are always so lovely and encouraging about my photography. I truly appreciate it.

Wow, that is a lot of red! I like the assortment from all around your homestead. I think my favorite photo is the basket of strawberries. Ours look like they are done for the year, but I cannot wait until next years harvest. Great Job!

Our strawberries are done as well. We don't have a big patch like yours! I ate most of them in the garden. :)

What a wonderful collection of reds... from the strawberries to birdhouse, red door and tea kettle - love them! :) Cheers and hope you have a lovely weekend!!

Oh thank you! :) Thanks for saying hi. I hope you have a lovely weekend also.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64856.09
ETH 3426.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56