You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🌽 Update on the 3 Sisters Plantings 🍉 WizStead Post #18

I stopped by to say thank you for the gift, @wizardave, and got caught up in your companion planting and old seeds. Come spring, I think we need to do a small bed of corn (which we call mielies), some squash and beans - all makes sense to me. On the old seed: seems it's only a problem with commercial seed. The Husband planted some onion seeds - commercial - and none came up. Turns out that the entire batch - not just our measly sewing had not come up and that the brand had been removed from the shelf. Now he's started again. Now, to harvested seed: we got some fava (we call them broad) beans from a neighbour because we couldn't find commercial ones. Full germination. Go figure. Or, perhaps it's because they were last season and not older.

Thanks again for the gift - I am still learning my way around this platform and how it works - the community and the technology, so appreciate all the support I can get.

Sort:  

You're welcome.

  • it's strange that all the corn was from the same year and 1 of the 3 came up. ::shrug:: @mistermercury had some beans that were hundreds of years old. Found in some cave in Arizona, I think. They germinated enough for a crop and to gather a fresh set seed beans. My cousin that lives about 1 mile away had poor germination and he dug up his seeds. They were still just like he planted them. So maybe it wasn't the seed and just our weird weather we had this spring???
    • re:3 sisters It does make sense that they work well together. All the corn info I can get says to use 40-0-0 fertilizer which is straight nitrogen. So any help the beans can give it by putting nitrogen into the soil is great. I know the Native Americans also planted fish remains to help their corn. I looked up fish emulsion and it is like 5-1-1 again helping give the corn some nitrogen...

@wizardave ah, thanks for that. As I recall, my dad, a horticulturist would tell you that untreated seeds can be viable for centuries. I would imagine, though, that standard germination times might be longer because of their weathered hides, so to speak. I am so going to check out your link and have a look at @energyaddict22 - I am wanting to sit down and collate some of the stuff I'm learning that may help other minnows - wanting to find the time, too, and not succeeding.

Thanks for the wishes and look forward to watching your crops grow 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69603.16
ETH 3748.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75