De Grid Me #3. Steemit “HomesteadingChallenge” #2 - How I made a complete Dick of myself!!!

in #homesteadingchallenge7 years ago (edited)

Aussie.jpg

G'day,

My entry into the #homesteadingchallenge - have a laugh at my expense!!

It's a short story really.

Finished doing all the mowing with the ride on mower so time to do all the tricky bits with the push mower.
Better have a couple more beers first, it's a hot day.

Get mower out of the shipping container and fill with fuel.
That was a big job - better have another beer.

Really should check the oil, it hasn't been done for a while.
Needs a bit of a top up, so I get the oil from the shipping container, fill the mower up and then take the oil back.
This is turning into a big effort - better have another beer.

OK, let's get this job started!!!
Bend over, pull the starter cord and bang, it starts first time.

Holy Shit!!!!!!!!!!! - Panic............... turn it off - turn it off!!!!
Faaaark! What complete Idiot forgot to put the oil plug back in????

Mower 1.JPG
Oh No! - Not oil on the concrete.

Mower 2.JPG
This really is a mess!! (How the hell is the Wife going to clean all this up???)

As we know................You always pay a price for your Stuff Ups!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Me 1.JPG
A quick selfie to survey the damage.

Can you imagine how hard it is to get sump oil out of your skin!
Can you imagine how much crap I copped when I went to the pub that night with a black stained face???

In hindsight, I probably shouldn't have rushed into it the way I did.
Maybe if I took more time, had a few more beers and thought about it a bit longer, the whole thing could have been avoided?

Moral of the story - do not attempt important tasks without having the correct amount of beers!!!!!

Sort:  

Yep - relevant! - LOL....

"... you got mud on ya face, a big disgrace ... " - how does that song go

LOL- I was reading... reading... reading.. and it wasn't until I saw the picture of your face that I busted out laughing!
better have another beer
Great story!

Oh my goodness haha! Thank you for your submission, you have been entered into the contest!

Hahahahaa!!! This is great! Well.. not so much for you. Thanks for sharing! Got a great laugh at your expense. :)

What an awesome story! I had such a good laugh, not so much at your mishap (suuuure...!) but the way you told it, smothered in self-ironic Aussie humor. Wonderful. The only thing is, I only saw your post now, that it's 8 days old, so my upvote won't help you with the reward. Congrats on winning @kiaraantonoviche's contest though! Rightly deserved.

Haha that's hilarious I hope your wife didn't beat you too severely

I tell my wife that I'm into pain........so she just leaves me alone!! Lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43