Quick and Easy Mexican Nachos Recipe.

When I saw @kiaraantonoviche’s latest homesteading challenge was on sharing your favourite homemade recipe, I thought it was perfect timing because I was about to make some more salsa sauce. I had it all planned out for photos and documenting the process, then I messed up! I overdid the vinegar and was completely distracted trying to rectify the mistake (tip: baking soda helps).

But never mind. I have written up the recipe and process for this before and it's not really my favourite recipe, so instead I'll share my favourite recipe to use it in; Nachos. I love this dish because it is quick and versatile. The base ingredients are vegan, so it can be made to suit vegans, vegetarians or omnivores.

IMG_20180405_210835.jpg

Basic ingredients:
Corn crisps/chips
1 tin of refried beans or equivalent (approximately 430g/15oz)
1 jar of salsa sauce or equivalent (approximately 300g/10oz, homemade recipe here)

Choose your own additions. I like mushrooms and/or diced chicken, my daughter likes to use mincemeat.

In a saucepan add a little cooking oil and stirfry your additional ingredients. Then simply add the refried beans and salsa and mix. Cook through thoroughly, stirring occasionally.

While it's cooking spread the corn chips on the plate.

To serve, pour the sauce mixture into the middle of the corn chips (as seen in the top picture). You can add cheese, sour cream, fresh chilies, guacamole or straight avocado chunks.

This recipe serves 3-4 full size meals or 6 small meals.


~○♤○~


You can also find The Miniature Smallholding on:

Instagram
Facebook


Join us at the Online Homesteading Community

IMG_20180111_135541.jpg

Sort:  

Oh nachos are such a versatile thing to make and eat. WHen the kids were still at home, I'd take shredded cheeses, lettuce, tomatoes, onions, sauces, sour cream, avocados and so many other items... and we'd put out bowls of the items and have a make-your-own nachos dinner night. A favorite with the kids.

Sounds like a great idea for a party, when you don't know who eats what!

Make your own nights are so much fun. Usually I've done them for tacos, but they work just as well with nachos. Great for those of us with allergies too as we can avoid things we can't eat, so long as everyone remembers to use separate utensils for serving things up.

Nachos are great. Corn Chips, Something Something, Melted Cheese. I'm not sure it really matters how much or what food is used for the something something, so long as you can use the chips as scoops to pick up a bunch of it to munch on

No utensils needed when you have edible scoops!

We do nachos a lot for the grandkids as a snack at night. They are not into sweets which is a good thing, so we just keep some cheese sauce with Rotel in it in the fridge. Spoon some out in a bowl pop it in the micro for a few seconds and stir.

Great to see a recipe for nachos! You can't mess them up. Add or leave out sour cream, guacamole, spicy salsa, salad, onions, tomatoes, cilantro, shredded lettuce, ground beef (or other types of meat)... It can go from very simple and quick to super inclusive. The mushrooms on yours sound tasty. Gotta try it myself.

I love versatile and simple, especially when you have people who can't or won't eat different things.

You've been entered into the contest! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63540.43
ETH 2481.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66