My Sugar Free Salsa Dip RecipesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

@Stortebeker and his tasty salsa recipe inspired me to share my own slightly different one.

When we decided to cut refined sugar out of our diets I was surprised at how often it turned up in ready made foods. We often use jars of salsa dip in cooking and even the supposedly healthy, organic options had sugar in, so I did some research and came up with my own recipe.

IMG_20170904_182125.jpg

I like to make it in bulk and can it, but this recipe makes about two of the pictured jars.

6 standard sized chopped, peeled tomatoes or one tin of tomatoes
1 small or half a large pepper/capsicum, diced
1 medium onion chopped
1 small hot chili or ¼ tsp chili powder (increase or decrease to personal preference)
1 (or more) large garlic clove finely chopped or crushed
1 tsp salt
2 tsp apple cider vinegar

I simply mix all the ingredients and heat through in a pan, then pour it into sterilised jars and I boil for at least twenty minutes in the boiling bath method as it's quite an acidic recipe.


You can also find us on:

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/minismallholding/
Facebook: https://m.facebook.com/minismallholding/
YouTube: https://m.youtube.com/channel/UCBwcsmyIkW_hIEJdLUSd44

Sort:  

Sounds delicious! My husband works in a fish processing plant and often brings home fish fresh from the ocean. When we're in a hurry we just bake it with some salsa over the top for a fast and healthy meal.

I am saving this recipe and will definitely be making it - maybe this coming weekend when I get back from my mini-vaca where I hope to find a farm market or two along the way for some farm fresh produce.

Have you ever put corn in it? Just curious? I am thinking some roasted corn might be a nice addition (oh my, my mouth is watering)!

I haven't put corn in before, but that does sound tasty!

The fish sounds delish! We don't often have it because my daughters aren't keen on it. Hore you find some nice farm markets.

Mine as well! SO happy to see a sugar free recipe!
Blessings,
Melissa

You had me at "When we decided to cut refined sugar out of our diet" So happy to have something in common with others...we use honey (antibiotic)and maple syrup (packed with minerals)...mostly my 10 year old, as he, like most kids, has a sweet tooth...Thank you so much for the recipe....and so so happy to have found your blog I was already following from the homesteading FB group but I love uncovering these wonderful nuggets about others that match what we are doing...
Blessings
Melissa

We use honey. Real maple syrup is really expensive here in Aus!

Hi @minismallholding. We have a pretty strong Team Australia community going here on steemit to support each other. If you'd like to be part of it, then please check out this link for the instructions on how to join: https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@choogirl/team-australia-new-recruits-update-03-09-17-plus-team-australia-milestone-200-members

Hi @choogirl, I didn't realise there was a community! I was invited to user the tag by a fellow Aussie.

Thank you, I will have a look.

The tag is obviously free to use, but if you want the benefits then you need to officially join.

I usually go through the teamaustralia and australia tags once a week or so and look for new names, such as yours, and invite them to join.

Thank you, I'll certainly take a look. It will be nice to connect with other Aussies.

Ohh this will be perfect to add to the next issue of the WHN! Looks tasty and I'm glad it has no sugar in it, I'm trying to reduce my sugar intake!

Thank you; I always like to share sugar free recipes as they aren't that easy to find! It's not an easy job cutting out sugar is it!? Good luck with reducing yours.

Hey there! I just wanted to inform you that your article has been included and linked in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you have the time! Thank you and have a great day!

Thank you. I'm currently working through the articles on there. 😊

That looks delicious! My husband likes the chunkier salsa and I can tell by this picture that you definitely have larger chunks.
Recipe seems easy enough... may have to add tacos to the meal menu this week just to try. thanks!

Larger chunks cut down the preparation time! Lol!
I need to make some more. It's been a bit hectic of late though.

Congratulations @minismallholding! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71