My homesteading bucket list

in #homesteadingchallenge7 years ago (edited)

I grew up in a province where fruits and vegetables were abundant in our backyard, but few years later, my father started cutting down trees giving way to his garage. It was quite frustrating because gardening is the closest thing close to my heart. Thankfully, I bumped into @kiaraantonoviche post regarding Steemit HomesteadingChallenge #4 and I thought it is about time to start writing down some of my homesteading dreams.

My homesteading bucket list:

Lot

This is the greatest dream that I want to have. Well, who doesn't like a big place where you​ can grow trees, vegetables and have space for livestock​ right? This is where I want to build my farmhouse.

Rice field

The price of rice is starting to shoot up and Filipinos main meal includes rice. I would like to have 2 hectares​ of rice field with proper water irrigation to feed my family for months for the next harvest.

One of my parent's source of income aside from their work was the selling of palay (unmilled rice). During harvest season, they would sell the 50% of the total harvest and the remaining 50% for ours to consume. I would like to continue what my parent's has started.

Vegetables and fruit-bearing trees

I love the idea of having vegetable garden and trees in​ the backyard of my farmhouse. It feels like heaven to me surrounded by these beautiful and colorful vegetables and fruits. Fresh and free from chemicals. I am going to plant different varieties of fruits and vegetables so there's no need to run down to market to buy​ these kinds of stuff​ for cooking.

Poultry farming

Meat and egg production at your own backyard? Why not? Raising chickens, geese, and ducks doesn't​ require much of your time. I can use my ducks and geese to control pests and weeds in my rice fields.

how-to-raise-ducks.jpg

Cows

During my elementary days, our teacher often gave us an assignment - to collect a sack of cow's wastes and of course the dry ones. Then the waste which serves as fertilizer would be put into the garden in our school where we grow onions, pechay and cabbage. Result - chemical-free​ vegetables. I am going to apply this technique to​​ my vegetables and fruit-bearing trees.​ Like poultry farming, cows are also easy to tend. I can sell cows for their meat too.

This is my bucket list and this is going to be my paradise on earth.

Thank you for reading.

@jovema

Image sources

1
2
3
3
4
5

Sort:  

so nice to see a homestead bucket list from over seas!

@originalworks

Thanks @goldendawne

Followed you. 😊

interesting post
follow @herygustami as a witness here!

Wow sis, these are indeed a paradise on Earth... stress free and its really nice to go back to where we started... enough with these busy life! :)

Thanks sis. I am not really comfortable living in a city. Sana matupad lahat ng sa bucket list. Hahah! salamat sa pagdaan. :-*

Great list, you've been entered into the challenge, thank you!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jovema to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47