#Homesteadingchallenge Number 6: My Favorite Source For Knowledge

Homesteading Challenge Number 6 Has Me Wondering


When @kiaraantonoviche has these homestead challenges I am ALWAYS up for it. But this one had me in a dilemma. I use so many different references and to narrow it down to just one had me really assessing which place I turn to when I am in need of guidance and knowledge.

I mean, in the past when these challenges have been announced I know immediately what I will write about... but this one... she really threw me for a loop.

20170810_125636.jpg


I have dozens and dozens of books. Container gardening to growing herbs and The Idiot and Dummies Guides to gardening to how to build planters from pallet boxes; but which one do I rely on the most?

John Seymour's books are FABULOUS with a capital F... and the Farmer's Almanac offers some great yearly planting advice.. BUT... I actually don't use a book.

Say what? Really! I don't. I have them all in my homesteading library, but when I am in need of advice I tend to go to Gardening Know How's website. Seriously... I do.


Gardening Know How Website


20171220_071336.jpg


Things I like MOST about this website:

  • There is an app so I can take it on the go when I'm out in the greenhouse or garden and need a quick reference
  • The topics and categories really meet my needs
  1. Edible gardens
  2. Gardening how to
  3. Plant disease and pest guidance
  4. Local extension office guide
  5. Community and school programs
  6. Ask a QUESTION section
  7. Millions of easy to comprehend articles and posts
  8. They even offer up the opportunity to write for their website
  9. Great picture (and video) tutorials
  10. Composting and vermicomposting

Vermicomposting according to the website is,

This section provides information on using worm castings from vermicomposting systems to make the most of your gardening experience. Earthworms are an important feature in maintaining healthy soil. In addition to learning about composting with worms, you will find tips on using vermicompost and how to create vermicompost in the garden. With this vermicomposting guide, you'll enjoy the benefits of using earthworms and their by-products for growing healthy plants.


20171220_071405.jpg


Keep in mind, I do print off articles and add to my hard copy gardening binder.



So, there you go... my all-time favorite go-to source is a website


For more information and to learn how you can get involved in this challenge, check out this link to the original challenge and GOOD LUCK EVERYONE!

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

I'm going to go check out out! So my gardens can be even better next spring, it had alot of great information, thanks Goldie!❤️😍

When I really got into gardening a few years ago I found this website every time I would search for information and it became my go-to place for all things gardening.

Thank you for letting us know about that site. I will check them out. Also, I too make hard copies of a lot of things. I have boxes of info to fall back on if we lose the electric grid.

Exactly the reason I do it. You just never know. I mean, I'm not a conspiracy theorist, but in this volatile day and age, you just have to be prepared for... ANYTHING

I agree. I have always been a number person and I think I know people well enough to think that the more people who can't feed their families, the more apt that someone is going to do something stupid that could affect thousands (if not millions or billions) of people. I learned long ago, if you depend on someone else to take care of you, they are going to let you down at some point and you are the one to suffer when it happens. If you don't have to depend on anyone, then no one lets you down and you can just have fun together when things work out that you can meet up.

Words that could have come out of my mouth...

if you depend on someone else to take care of you, they are going to let you down at some point

Valid points in your comment. People do tend to do outlandish things in desperation.

I too keep a couple of binders of printouts. :)

I am starting to look into getting hard copies of books and what not. Thanks for the site, I have not visited it before. I will check it out!

I have so many books I have found super cheap but I also have a two large binders of articles and posts I have printed off and made my own. Always nice to have hard copies available

Thanks for this awesome website "gardening know how"

I highly recommend this site for any gardener, especially beginners.

I've definitely used this website before, great choice! You've been entered into the challenge -thank you!

Thank you!!!

And yes, the site has ALL my gardening needs met so far.

I never heard of this site before, so thanks for the heads up!

That's great! I just downloaded the app. I feel like like I'm always having to start from scratch looking for reputable sites for my garden questions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55049.50
ETH 2307.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30