You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homesteading Challenge #7 Entry

If you have that much iron in your water it will not be easy to get it out. I am in the sand capital of the world I think as I have two sand pits about 2 miles or so from my land. I have a well and it is 175 ft deep and I have some iron in it also. I can say sand does help some but will not get it out with as much as you have in your water. They make iron filters but they are expensive and you would have to change them every day if not everytime you pump water with that much iron in the water. I do not know your location but is the whole area like that or just in your neck of the woods. I would find a better location and have a deep well drilled.

Sort:  

I agree. I doubt a single sand filter will do it completely. I'll probably end up with a two stage solution. The photo is of course the worst case (ya know drama ;-) I'm in western NC. The wells on my side of the creek tend to have rust; the wells on the other side don't. The commercial iron filter are cost prohibitive and use a lot of nasty chemicals. The good news is that it will mostly settle out which means it's a larger particle size and easier to filter. Right now it's too cold to do anything so I have to wait until Spring. The well pumps good water as long as you don't stir it up by over pumping.

Yeah, I agree on the commercial filters. It is amazing a well next to you is just perfect. It is a pain. Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60569.12
ETH 2442.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52