Sunday Slice! 11/02/2018 - Growing food at home!

in #homesteading6 years ago

Growing at home in the suburbs with no soil


So some time ago my father and I have started to grow bits of food at home. Not enough to make us self-sufficient. Not by a long shot, but every bit helps.

The economy in South Africa sometimes has certain bits of produce sky-rocketing in price suddenly. Even though I can't always grow THAT resource which has spiked, I CAN make the whole budget more affordable by producing some of my own food.

I have a tiny paved back yard. This was not going to stop me from doing something. After all - 'n boer maak 'n plan.

So what we did to be able to grow in my little yard I shall explain in another post. There are pots and there are some other panels we built that we used to grow various "crops" in.

Today I would like to show off one particular plant that surprised me and is doing very well. Cucumbers!

It all starts out with a little flower



20180131_062425.jpg


What you can see in this picture in the foreground is a female flower of the cucumber plant. Once pollinated the part behind the flower and all the way to the stem becomes the cucumber. This one in the photo is already "pregnant".

In the background of this photo you can see another flower, this is the male flower. It has a short little stem that does not grow forward and is often a bit more open wide.

And then it grows!

20180131_062508.jpg

Here we can see the flower still attached but shriveling. The cucumber kind of blows up like a balloon, inflating from the back and pushing forward in super slow motion!

20180205_063632.jpg

Here we have a cucumber that is nearly ready for the picking. It is pretty much symmetrical and very heavy. This is a local species of cucumber that is able to grow in the South African climate better than imported types. We can have a look at the differences in the kitchen.

In the Kitchen

20180210_162237.jpg

So quite incidentally my father used to work in the tunnel plantations where the usual store-bought cucumber is grown. Because of this I have some first hand knowledge on what happens in these tunnels. One thing is for sure, the long English Cucumber as my father calls it, grows at a phenomenal rate in the tunnels. We are talking about centimeters per day! As such these cucumbers are a lot of water and the cells are not yet jacked with other nutrients. Before they can mature, the production of the tunnel growers dictate that they need to cut, pack and ship them out.

Instead this short little guy was left to grow naturally and is packed with vitamins and minerals. We pick it off once we see the skin is maturing. This is because we look at our plants every day.

20180204_185610.jpg

So one of these cucumbers, sliced thinly was added to the salad of this meal. We are a family of four (myself, my father, Aime and Meren). One cucumber was enough for this meal and look... cucumber everywhere!

The plant itself

What is great about this experience of growing these cucumbers is that I didn't have to read up about them. I already mentioned that this was a hardy local breed and that was a blessing because the plants were very forgiving to our learning curve. (Unlike the tomatoes we did a while back.)

20180131_062403.jpg

We knew for sure that this cucumber was going to creep and because of that, it is important to provide it with something to hold on to. We gave the cucumbers a solid wooden bar and then strings that were spun from the top of the wall to the wood and down. The cucumbers "roam" around with their tendrils and within hours of putting these lines up, they attached and wrapped themselves in.

I have since learned of a neat trick from reading a post by @soulturtle that planting a crop that is rigid on their own with a creeper makes a great plant pairing. In his case there was the Three Sisters of Corn, Beans and Melons/Pumpkins. The last in the trio was to create a ground cover to keep other plants away, but i don't exactly have space for that in my set up, nor do I have need to keep other plants out.

@soulturtle's whole post here.

I will look into doing something similar in my scale... corn is not exactly a pot plant. However, there are other considerations...

20180128_124513.jpg

The cucumber plant does not like direct sunlight. In the photo you can see the drooping of the leaves. The plant is not dying though. What it does is to pull the moisture from the leaves which causes the droop. This prevents water loss due to evaporation. If it gets shade however... look at the other plant.

A quick test was for us to place a wooden board over the plant to create shade. Within minutes the cucumber plant re-inflated the leaves and looked healthy as can be.

So without going building anything specific we used some old sheets to give the plants some cover and this has worked rather well. Especially against the direct sunlight of noon. Now the plants get a bit of direct light in the morning. From 10:30AM till afternoon they have shade though.

20180203_090003.jpg

Plans for the future

The reason we have not made a permanent fixture for shade etc, is because we are currently planning some new techniques and places to plant. So once my dad and I have gotten a decent plan we can start building some permanent fixtures.

Until next time,
Regards.
Zak Ludick

Sort:  

Congratulations human. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-58

Joyous exclamation!

I love veggies and salads. I was once a vegetarian until I lived in Kuwait where vegetarianism was costly as hell because most veggies are imported. Growing one's veges is the best because you get to eat truly fresh and nutritious food. I grew up growing veges in the backyard, but my entire adult life I've been living in apartments and I can't even dream about growing my own tomatoes.
When Steemit has made me a millionare, I plan on having an aquaponics ecosystem in my backyard for sure.

I can't believe I just read a whole article about a cucumber! I'm a meat-eater, and hardly ever go near the green stuff... but this kept me intrigued!

Very cool article dude! If it could keep ME reading about veggies all the way to the end, it deserves my UpVote :-)

Nice detail on this. I've tried growing all kinds of garden food (in beds, raised beds, pots on the ground, pots on the deck, etc) at various points over the years. Bigger pots always do better (especially for very hungry plants like squash/zucchini). Over here in Florida though...there are a lot of hungry animals that like to steal my produce, so I've had to wrap everything with wire netting.

Still, nothing better than taking fruit off your own vines!

So true. Nothing beats that satisfaction of eating food raised by yourself.

This is amazing man. Just goes to show growing plants is viable in an urban context too. The cucumbers look great! Eating your own food even if it's just a little bit must be so satisfying. Glad my post gave you some ideas, yours is very inspirational too.

Upvoted by Proudly South African Steemians(@psas). You can follow us for more truely South African content.
If you are from South Africa, you are more than welcome to join us on Discord. https://discord.gg/xRznW7S

Good job on the cukes.

The leaf wilting is a protective measure to conserve moisture. The wisdom of Mother Nature!

Here’s something you might want to try to keep your plants hydrated.

Fill a bottle with water. Put a lid on it. Punch a small hole in the bottom of the bottle so the water slowly drips out. Set the bottle on the soil in your pots.

You may have to adjust the hole size in your new drip irrigation system to match the plant needs.

Wishing you success with all your planting and growing experiences.

Thanks! I will certainly try that.

My dad and I are currently working on another drip system that might get a bit more involved here where we use a natural stone/sand/charcoal filter system to use bath and shower water that will then run over the plants in a gutter system and drip from the holes along the way.

Well that is the theory anyway.

Sounds like a workable system. Be sure to post some pics of the new system.

Congratulations, you were selected for a random upvote! Follow @resteemy and upvote this post to increase your chance of being upvoted again!
Read more about @resteemy here.

nice stuff.... At first i have to move but then i will show you my gardening projects...

Awesome. Please do!

Great job!

Love to see people growing at least some of their own food!

Thank you! Will do my best to show some of the other project. Beans have been taken out, so the other containers are sitting empty at the moment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63630.78
ETH 3406.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55