🍅 Planted 200+ onions... Stuff happened... Pretty sunset - WizStead Post #10

in #homesteading6 years ago

My weekend on the WizStead

Planted 200+ onions

I bought

  • a bag of 100 mixed white, yellow and red bulbs at Walmart.
  • From an Amish green house:
    • a bundle of about 50 Candy Red onions
      candy red.jpg
      image source
      • Here's the web site of the farm they came from.
        It says these are short day onions.
    • about 50 "large sweet" white onion bulbs
      • I spaced these at 6 inches. All others were 4".

IMG_20180414_122843180.jpg

Wide Row Planting
You have options how to plant your onions:

  • Long rows
    • It takes about 25 foot row to plant 100 onions.
      Rows spaced about 18"
      For 200 that would be 37.5 square feet.
  • Wide rows
    • It only takes about 6 square feet (2' x 3') to plant 100 onions.
      12.5 square feet for 200.
      Saving 25 square feet over "traditional" row planting...
      In other words, you only use 1/3 the space for the same amount of plants.
      Or you could plant 3 times the produce in the same amount of space.
      • This what I opted for.
        My row is 3' wide. I could reach all the way across from one side.
        If you are short, you may want only 2'wide wide-rows...

Planting depth
I read anywhere from 1/2" to 2 inches.
I shot for about 1/2 - 1" on top of the bulb part.
Depending on the size of the bulb was how deep I made the trench.

Companion Planting
Good with beets, cabbage family, carrots, lettuce, parsnips, peppers, potatoes, spinach, strawberries, tomatoes

  • So pIanted a row between my cabbage, broccoli and cauliflower from last week.
    a row of onion, 2 cabbage, a row of onion ... ... broccoli... cauliflower... a row of onion.
    This is in a 3' wide raised bed.
  • I planted the rest at the end of my potato bed...

Not good with beans or peas

IMG_20180422_154700522.jpg

Crop rotation
Next year this would be a good place to plant cabbage family plants.

How'd the rest of the weekend go?
crappy!!! haha

I made one path up by the machine shed with my rider.
Was mowing along the fence back toward the barn.
And found that jack handle that's been missing all those years. BANG!!!
Got off to look and it had completely broke the 3 mounts of the spindle...
DANGIT!!! 😒 Time to order a new spindle.
IMG_20180422_195617158.jpg

OK, no problem. I have a craftsman self-propelled bagger I like to use.
1 pull, it almost started and the rope stayed out.
Had to work on that a bit to get it working at least kinda.
Pull... run a couple of seconds. Repeat Repeat Repeat.
Take off air filter. Try a bit of ether.
Pull... run as long as you kept spraying squirts of ether.
Take carb off. Hmm I must not have drained the gas from the bowl.
It smelled like varnish.
Sprayed it with carb cleaner off and on all day.
Tried it again that evening. It still only runs with ether...
DANGIT!!! 😒 Time to get some carb cleaner to soak the carb in.

IMG_20180422_195650066.jpg

No problem. I'll use my old push mower (not self propelled, no bag), but it runs like a champ.
Well, that is, it runs like a champ until the whole carb/gas tank comes loose.
No problem. Easy fix to tighten it all back up.
Cool. Mow Mow Mow
I found that 6' piece of copper wire which wrapped around the shaft a bit and BANG!!!
broke a wheel.
DANGIT!!! 😒 Time to get a new wheel...
IMG_20180422_195635782.jpg

No problem. I'll do some weed eating with my big Stihl trimmer.
Oh yeah. Tearing up those weeds.
Until I see a piece fly off the head.
Huh! Would you look at that!
It broke that one piece of that gizmo that holds the spool in the head.
DANGIT!!! 😒 Time to order that part...
Forgot to take a pic...

No problem. I'll dig out my lil electric weed whacker.
OOPS It won't spin. Hmmm Head barely turns by hand. Must be a bit rusty.
No problem. I have WD40! squirt squirt. Yup now it works...
Oh cool. This is working great.
Got all the way down the fence to out by the big hunk of concrete that used to be Grandpa's porch.
vrrrrnnn I think that's how you spell the noise it makes when it runs out of string and speeds way up.
No problem. I've got plenty of string...
Restring. Whackawhackawhacka I think that's how you spell the normal noise it makes when trimming weeds.
thwack thwack rrrr rr r r ... r I think that's how you spell the noise when for some reason the string comes way out and wraps around the shaft so it hardly will run.
No problem. I have a set of dikes and clip that extra string off.
Whackawhackawhacka thwack thwack rrrr rr r r ... r
Hmm... Take the spool off and the little gizmo that holds the spool, but magically unholds the spool to let a bit of line out when it needs it... That gizmo was broke.
DANGIT!!! 😒 Time to toss this in the trash, cuz it wouldn't be worth repairing.

So now I am down to my lil electric push mower with bagger...
IMG_20180422_195847324.jpg

Oh well. I had had enough mowing and did some planting.
Planted

  • an azalea out front (variety 'Karen')
    Missouri Botanical Garden calls it a Rhododendron. ???
    • It likes filtered sun or part shade, so I planted it here where it won't get direct sunlight.
      2-4' tall, 3-5' wide
      • Spring pink to violet flowers.
        Brilliant burgundy fall leaves.
        Attracts hummingbirds and butterflies, so planted by the front bird and hummingbird feeders.
        IMG_20180416_140336106.jpg
        We have golden finches.
        ... and hummingbirds...
        IMG_20180416_140321535.jpg
        Supposedly evergreen. That's kinda cool.
  • a rose bush by the other shrubs
    • Where it will get full sun.
  • And the purple smoke tree out in the back.
    • Never having grown this before, I put it with my shrub hedge row, in case I didn't like it.

Out of time. The weekend is done...
Oh well, I got a lot planted
and successfully broke some stuff 😎
so I can practice my DIY repair skills in the next few days... 😜

But we did have a cool sunset!

IMG_20180422_191325562_HDR.jpg

How was your weekend?

Unless noted, all pics are by @WizarDave
wizsmall.png
Who I am

@WizarDave
Sort:  

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 20:57:09
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 45.55/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Looks like you have a lot going on. Plants a good amount of red onion sets myself.

You have golden finch too. That's my wife's favorite bird. I make sure I plant plenty of sunflowers or I won't get many because the finch love them so much

Good to know. I have a few packets of sunflowers to plant a bit later...

  • The finches are great. We also have wrens that are beautiful song birds.

Forgot to upload these. Had them in my back pocket...
IMG_20180424_130203370.jpg

We apologize for the continued delay of our upvotes. We’re working hard to obtain more SP to keep up with all of our amazing Thunder Supporters. Thank you for your continued patience and support! You are the lightning to our THUNDER!

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.08 SBD ($0.081 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.24+ SBD.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61904.26
ETH 2409.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68