Setting a wild honeybee trapline

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

20180416_165204.jpg

As I mentioned in my last post, I have scouted out several prime locations to place swarm traps to catch wild bees all up and down my side of the Shenandoah Valley. The bees that most beginning beekeepers buy don't satisfy my preference for wildness. Bees that take care of themselves for generations without domestication have instincts and immune systems that make them survivors. Part of my philosophy is that human control under the commercial/industrial model often leads to sickness and death of the livestock. Through many conversations and exploring the wild countryside, I have met some fantastic bees!

No sooner did I publish my intentions Saturday morning than I coughed a few times and sprained my back. I have had a trick back for half my life now, and it is awfully inconvenient when you have plans to get work done and all of a sudden you can't stand up straight. I made the most of it- I just got all the tractor work taken care of instead. It turned out to be the perfect time, because it rained ever since.

Today I was still miserable enough to go to a chiropractor. That got me loosened up enough to walk upright, and after 400 mg of ibuprofen and an ice bag, I was ready to finally set up my bait hives! I really have been grumpy this weekend, and found it necessary to apologize to my family every time I opened my mouth. A bit of movement and fresh air seemed to help my mentality.

20180416_154358.jpg

The little towns I pass through are much the same as they were 50 years ago, just older and more industrial. There are so many old farmhouses and barns and log cabins and churches and dry goods stores all boarded up and haunted. I just want them all.

20180416_153209.jpg

The bees that live in this wall have been there since the 60's at least. I hope to catch more than a few of their daughter colonies to form a strong basis for my stock. I had heard of this legendary colony through the grapevine for years, and finally started knocking on doors this winter. So far I have met no uncooperative property owners and the whole adventure has been very positive.

20180416_154602.jpg

This tree is a possible hive, though I have not seen flying bees yet. It is only 1/2 mile from the colony in the house wall. The majestic pastoral view above is seen from this hollow tree.

I put two frames of wax comb in each bait hive so the new queen will be able to lay immediately upon moving in. Scout bees prefer hives with comb. I also put essential oil of lemongrass on the entrance- this mimics the scent bees emit to tell each other "home is this way! Come on in!" Scouts also prefer homes with south-facing entrances, and that are off the ground 8-10 feet. I get this information from Tom Seely's book "Honeybee Democracy". After scouts find suitable new homes, they return to the swarm and make a report. The decision is finalized and the swarm mobilizes together after they all come to the best conclusion unanimously and peacefully. i think we should all take notes!

20180416_165229.jpg

The greatest swarm I have ever caught was in a little holler called Runions Creek. I hope to capture more of the sister swarms at the same location. The picture above and the picture below are from this spot in Runions Creek. Many trickling streams of pure spring water come out of the ground there. I also harvested a quart of cress leaves to add to our supper this evening. I know how blessed I am.

20180416_165305.jpg

Hopefully soon I will have pictures of swarms and active colonies to share with you, and more treasures to report!

Sort:  

How did your hives do over the winter? Everybody here in the NRV had major losses. I totally agree with using bait hives to capture wild genetics. Keep up the good work.

I lost all three of my hives due to my stupidity of not winterifying them at all. I am very upset about it. My employer lost about 35% which is not bad compared to everyone else in the Shenandoah valley.

Dang always hate to hear that. Talked to a friend of mine tonight that lost 31 out of 31. I had 14 in Fall and have 3 now. Getting my bait hives ready and a couple of nuc boxes to do some splits. Its a hard hobby when they die.

I knew it would be from the start, but when it was definitely my fault, it is so much worse. The fact that I am reinvesting and expanding shows me I am hooked.

Do you treat for mites? If yes with what?

I dont treat. I go back and forth about it. If I were to treat I would use one of the organic acids. I am trying to do a Fall feeding with honey and herbs to boost immune and antiviral properties. From my current understanding it is disease and virus that really effect the bees. I feel to many people are looking for a 'silver bullet' approach to it. Also feeding sugar changes the digestive track to a pH of 7 instead of around a 5. Big difference and it allows virus's to flourish.

I am the same way. A big part of my philosophy is that the less "solutions" humans come up with, the better. Usually they are just further problems.

Good post buddy! Sorry about your back! I have a trick back too, so I know what it's like.

That Cress is fantastic! I was picking that with my Mama, and Grandma when I was really little. I felt big as they let me use a knife.

Don't know anything about bees, but I love the Honey and the pollination these little guys/girls do for us all.

They are absolutely amazing! Thanks for the encouragement.

I find bee keeping fascinating. I'm glad you are actively enjoy this activity!

Great post. I can't wait to see more. Good luck catching them bees.

Thanks! It is nice to get human feedback.

Many thanks for the resteem and upvote @the-hearth! I hope y'all are whales someday and that there will always be enlightened company at your fireside.

aw you're sweet! hope you're a whale with us! wouldn't that be fine! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64